LibGuides: Sanskrit Language: Dictionaries

Online dictionaries

A Buddhist Sanskrit Lexicon
Easy to access online dictionary.
Digital Corpus of Sanskrit (DCS)
A corpus of Sanskrit texts with resolved Sandhis and full morphological and lexical analysis. The DCS is designed for text-historical research in Sanskrit linguistics and philology. Users can search for lexical units (words) and their collocations in a corpus of about 4 million tagged words in text lines.
Digital Dictionaries of South Asia (DDSA)
The DDSA program aims to make the highest quality electronic dictionaries for South Asian languages available as free public services. DDSA encompasses languages of the current nation-states of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
Practical Sanskrit-English Dictionary
View online via South Asia Archive [ANU staff and students only].

Print dictionaries

ANU holds an extensive collection of Sanskrit language dictionaries.

Selected Sanskrit language dictionaries are highlighted below.

Dictionary of Pāli-Sanskrit-Hindi-English by Yogendra Singh
Call Number: MENZIES BQ130.S56 2011

Publication Date: 2011

Published by International Research Institute of Buddhist Studies.
An Encyclopaedic dictionary of Sanskrit on historical principles by general editor: A. M. Ghatage.
Call Number: MENZIES reference PK925.D25 1976

Publication Date: 1976

Published by Deccan College Post-graduate and Research Institute. The ANU Library holds v.1-9 and v.28-32.
Glossary of Indian Religious Terms and Concepts by Narendra Nath Bhattacharyya
Call Number: MENZIES large book BL2001.2.B524 1990

Publication Date: 1990

A glossary of Indian religious terms and concepts in Sanskrit - English.
Jaina pāribhāṣika śabdakośa = Dictionary of technical terms of Jainism by Mahapragya, Acharya
Call Number: MENZIES BL1303.M34 2009

Publication Date: 2009

Alphabetical listing of Sanskrit and Prakrit words with their meanings and explanation in English. Includes alphabetical index: Appendix to Jain pāribhāṣika śabdakośa (bound separately).
The practical Sanskrit-English dictionary by eds.-in-chief: P.K. Gode and C.G. Karve
Call Number: MENZIES reference PK933.A65 v.1-3

Publication Date: 1957-1959

One of the most popular Sanskrit-English dictionaries.
Sanskrit-Wörterbuch der buddhistischen Texte aus den Turfan-Funden by Begonnen von Ernst Waldschmidt. Hrsg. von der Akademie der Wissenschaften in Göttingen unter der Leitung von Heinz Bechert [Redaktor G. von Simson]
Call Number: MENZIES reference PK935.G5S3

Publication Date: v.1 (1973) - current

This series of Sanskrit - German language dictionaries has been issued in parts and the ANU library holds version 1 from 1973 to the current issue.
Śabdārthacintāmaṇiḥ by Brahmabadhut Sukhanandanathah
Call Number: MENZIES large book PK925.S94 1992 (v.1 - 4)

Publication Date: 1992

One of the classical dictionary of Sanskrit language, the ANU Library holds v.1-4.