LibGuides: Arabic language: Dictionaries

Online dictionaries

Cambridge Dictionary - English - Arabic
One of 22 bilingual dictionaries to translate word from English to Arabic.
Dictionary of Arabic Literary Terms and Devices
This Hammond eBook can be viewed online via Oxford Reference Premium.
Lane's Arabic-English Lexicon
An Arabic-English dictionary published in eight volumes during the second half of the 19th century. It consists of Arabic words defined and explained in the English language.
Oxford Arabic Dictionary
Endorsed by academics worldwide, the 'Oxford Arabic Dictionary' is based on real modern evidence and computational analysis of hundreds of millions of words of both English and modern standard Arabic (the standardised variety of Arabic used in writing and in most formal speech). It boasts more than 130,000 words and phrases and 200,000 translations.

ANU holds an extensive collection of Arabic language dictionaries. All dictionaries are listed in the Library Catalogue.

Arabic dictionaries are listed via these subject headings in the Catalogue:

Selected Arabic Language dictionaries are highlighted below.

Al-Mawrid al-ḥadīth : qāmūs Inkilīzī-ʻArabī / Munīr Baʻlabakkī, Ramzī Munīr Baʻlabakkī = Al-marwid al-hadeeth : a modern English-Arabic dictionary by Munir Baalbaki, Ramzi Munir Baalbaki
Call Number: MENZIES PJ6640 .B16 2009
Publication Date: 2009
One of the most popular modern English-Arabic dictionaries for basic learners. This practical dictionary follows the chronological and historical order that organizes the meaning with the origin of the word. Rich with examples that enables the researcher to build a complete idea about the target word.
A frequency dictionary of Arabic : core vocabulary for learners by Tim Buckwalter; Dilworth Parkinson
Call Number: MENZIES PJ6635 .B83 2011
Publication Date: 2011
This dictionary provides detailed information for each of the 5000 entries, including the English equivalent, a sample sentence, and an indication of major register variation (including regional and dialectal). Pronunciation indicators will be given in the form of diacritics for MSA words and Romanized pronunciation for colloquial terms.