A library database is an online collection of scholarly resources.
Databases don't hold the resources, but provide the information needed to find it including the author, title, source, publication date, and often an abstract. Many databases have links to the full-text.
Databases can be interdisciplinary (covering several topics), or subject specific (focusing on one particular discipline).
The ANU Library subscribes to over 720 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items including scholarly journal articles; newspaper articles; images; streaming videos; music; and other academic publications.
Searching databases can be a great way to find reliable, peer-reviewed scholarly sources for your research and assessments.
Al Manha provides access to the full-text searchable database of peer-reviewed eJournals from the Arab and Islamic world. Researchers and students can access tens of thousands of articles from hundreds of journals from the world’s leading universities and research institutes.
ANU library subscribes to Al Manhal’s eJournals database includes the following three subjects:
1. Islamic Banking & Finance (19 tiltes). 2. Political Science & Int. Relations (46 titles) 3. Language & Literature (84 tiltes).
The Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies. The Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online is the first comprehensive, multivolume reference work on the Qur’ān to appear in a Western language. Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān Online includes direct access to 62 Early Printed Western Qur’āns Online and the Electronic Qurʾān Concordance, a unique online finding aid for textual research.
An authoritative and comprehensive reference collection combining access to in-depth scholarly resources offered by titles in the Oxford Companions series, together with quick reference coverage using over 120 key Oxford dictionaries and reference works.