A visual encyclopaedia of human behaviour and culture which includes material from every continent. Thematic areas include language and culture, body language, cooking, family structures, music and the arts, gender, and more. It contains classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage, and selected feature films.
A database of music recordings from around the world, drawn primarily from the archives of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Coverage includes American folk, blues, bluegrass, country, world, jazz, classical, Broadway, spoken word, sounds and children’s recordings.
This film is about the lives of several adolescents in a Palestinian children's dance troupe from Dheisheh refugee camp in the West Bank. They use their performance to express the history, struggle, and aspirations of the Palestinian people, specifically the fight to return to their homeland.
Syrian filmmaker Feras Fayyad's breathtaking example of boots-on-the-ground reportage, follows the efforts of the internationally recognized White Helmets, an organization consisting of ordinary citizens who are the first to rush towards military strikes and attacks in the hope of saving lives.
Beginning in Baghdad shortly before the start of the Iraq war, this documentary follows the members of an Iraqi family over three years as they deal with the disruptions and terrors of war. Shows how war and regime change strain close relationships, nurture extremism and change a family's destiny.
Explores the mediations of memory among three generations of Palestinian refugees living in Lebanon. It considers how a series of photos brought to Lebanon by Said Otruk, an elderly Palestinian fisherman from Acre, mediate both his present experience and recollections of his life in Palestine before 1948.
The Zabuli Education Center is the first school for girls in Deh'Subz, rural Afghanistan. Founder Razia Jan must juggle threats from the Taliban, interference from disapproving family members and teenage angst to keep the school running. Zabuli's challenges reveal the difficulties facing modern Afghanistan, as it balances the uneasy tension between a deeply conservative culture and a burning desire for development.