LibGuides: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies: Indigenous Voices

Privileging Indigenous Research

When conducting research into issues related to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, it's important to remember that much research has been conducted about them, without their input or voices being heard. Non-Indigenous voices are often prioritised when discussing issues that affect Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people.

The institutions of scholarship, such as Universities, Colleges, and Research Institutions have not historically made spaces for the voices of minorities, many of which may be speaking from a place of experience rather than scholarly research. It's important to keep in mind that Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander voices, opinions, and research should be considered when investigating Indigenous issues.

Before you get started, CAVAL has produced a guide for referencing Indigenous Knowledges. This is an excellent resource to guide you in respectfully acknowledging the knowledge and experiences of Indigenous people.

Indigenous Referencing Guidance for Indigenous Knowledges

See below some resources and tips for locating own voices content.

If the source is a book, check the foreword, afterword or author profile for a position statement from the author.

If the source is an article, check the abstract or introduction for any statement of the author's identity.

Without a specific statement, it can be difficult to determine whether a person identifies as Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander. Do not assume the author's identity if not explicitly stated. You can also try investigating the author's scholarly profiles or social media if the source does not say.

Many researchers have a Google Scholar profile. This is automatically generated when an author's works are indexed on Google Scholar. Unless the author has intentionally claimed their profile and made adjustments, this profile may contain incorrect information. However, if the author has claimed the profile, they may identify themselves there.

To find a Google Scholar profile, type author: Firstname Lastname into the search bar.

You can also try searching social media platforms for the author's name. If their profile is public, you may be able to pick it up through a Google search. Be careful to make sure you are looking at the correct profile.

If you know the author's institutional affiliation (such as the University or Research Institution they work for), you can try searching the institution's webpage for their professional profile. This may contain information about how they self identify.

Indigenous authors may be more likely to reference other Indigenous researchers' papers. You can use the reference list of the paper you have already found to locate works by other authors.

Some databases, such as Web of Science, Scopus or Google Scholar, allow you to view the "Cited by" papers of a particular work. Look for the "Cited by" link to find all papers that have reference lists that refer to your chosen paper.

Informit Indigenous Scholars You Should Know
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander-led scholarly projects are changing the national story in meaningful and positive ways, as well as having beneficial impacts within their own communities. At Informit, we believe that the proliferation of Indigenous-led research in recent years is among the most exciting developments in Australian research right now, and we are keen to amplify these contributions.

These interviews with Indigenous Scholars You Should Know cast a spotlight on current Australian First Nations scholarship: highlighting emerging methodologies, reflecting upon experiences within academia, and unpacking some of the ideas informing these important projects. The diverse fields and varied career stages of the interviewees echo the breadth of outputs being produced by First Nations academics.

New scholars will be added regularly.

Sources for Indigenous Vocies

Databases are collections of scholarly research, usually containing large collections of electronic journals, magazines, reports, audio visual material and books. Some databases may have overlapping content. They're often focused on a specific discipline or area of study, though some have a multi disciplinary or cross disciplinary focus.

The following databases include a range of Indigenous own voices content and research.

APAFT Australian Public Affairs full-text
This index and full text database provides access to scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities and is based on the journal indexing of the Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS). Coverage from 1995 onwards.
BlackWords | Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Writers and Storytellers This link opens in a new window
BlackWords records information about the lives, careers, and works of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers and storytellers and the literary cultures and traditions that formed and influenced them. It is a vitally important part of the work the AustLit team does in delivering information and carefully curated content about storytelling in Australia.
AUSTLANG | Australian Indigenous Language Databases This link opens in a new window
Austlang provides information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages, assembled from a number of referenced sources. AUSTLANG links to MURA the AIATSIS catalogue, and other resources.
Informit Indigenous Collection (IIC) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive collection covers both contemporary and historical issues within the field of Indigenous studies. Its multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law, land rights, literature, politics, policy making, (post)-colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual & performing arts.
AusAnthrop Australian Aboriginal Tribal Database This link opens in a new window
This is an online reference database on Australian Aboriginal tribes, nations, languages and dialectal groups. It caters for alternative names and spellings of tribes, places and dialects with links to archival files at the South Australian Museum.

Journals are usually indexed in databases, or can be accessed individually. Journals usually have a discipline focus, often a very narrow one. Journals collect scholarly articles, often peer reviewed, on a particular topic, into issues and volumes. The journals listed here offer articles from an Indigenous perspective.

AlterNative
An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples is an internationally peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal published continuously online as well as in quarterly print issues. AlterNative publishes scholarly research on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world. AlterNative provides the latest thinking and practice in Indigenous scholarship and has become the leading source for scholarship by Indigenous peoples and for those working alongside and with Indigenous communities.
ATSIC News
Published by the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission, ATSIC news explores policy, politics and Indigenous culture and history. Containing interviews, articles and reports ATSIC news provided a closer look at Indigenous affairs.
Australian Aboriginal Studies
Australian Aboriginal Studies is the Journal of The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies and is published twice yearly by Aboriginal Studies Press. Each issue contains three or four scholarly articles, accompanied by Research Reports, Book Reviews and News and Information.

It has only been in recent years that Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people have begun to fully participate in scholarly research about their own cultures and issues. However, there are a range of non scholarly sources available that are entirely or mostly created by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, where you can hear from people who may not be part of the scholarly institution.

Koori Mail
Established in May 1991, the Koori Mail is a fortnightly national newspaper reporting on the issues that matter to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. It aims to give Indigenous Australians a voice missing in the mainstream media.
The Koori Mail is and has always been 100% Aboriginal owned.
Blacademia
A podcast of yarns with First Nations academics.
IndigenousX
IndigenousX is a 100% Indigenous owned and operated media, consultancy, and training organisation
National Indigenous Times
The National Indigenous Times is Australia’s leading news media organisation for Indigenous affairs.
NITV
NITV is an Indigenous news services, TV station (hosted by SBS On Demand) and podcast by, and about Aboriginal issues.