Search the Library's collection of e-journals, e-resources and databases and find subject-specific resources.
Find out more about the world-class collections held by the Library and explore recently added titles.
Other collections
Improve your learning skills with training offered by the Information Literacy Program and discover ways to boost your research impact.
Key library services including borrowing and requesting material, as well as opening hours and branch information.
Related links
Find out what's happening in the Library and how you can get involved. Browse past presentations to catch up on what you missed or get further information.
Related links
General information about the Library and its people, planning and governance information plus the history of the Library.
Find out what services and facilities are available to different groups within ANU and the wider community.
The Journal Citation Reports (JCR) database is a unique and comprehensive tool providing bibliometric analysis of more than 5,900 journals in the areas of science and technology, and of 1,700 journals in the social sciences. Coverage is international and includes journals published by over 3,300 publishers in 60 countries.
The aim of the JCR is to provide a systematic and objective means of determining the relative importance of science and social sciences journals within their subject categories. Information for each title includes the "impact factor" (measurement of the frequency with which the average article has been cited in a particular year) and the "immediacy index" (how quickly the average article in a journal is cited). The JCR can show you the:
JCR uses Thomson Reuters (ISI Web of Knowledge) citation data.
An example of a Journal Citation Report in the Information Science and Library Science category is below:
Please note, access to Web of Science requires a subscription.
You should not depend solely on citation data in your journal evaluations. Citation data are not meant to replace informed peer review. Careful attention should be paid to the many conditions that can influence citation rates such as language, journal history and format, publication schedule, and subject specialty.
You should also consider the following four conditions, which may affect journal ranking and Impact Factor:
Most of the journals in Thomson ISI are English-language from North America, Western Europe and Australia.
Review journals and original research journals are treated the same even though the citation patterns of these types of articles differ.
Eigenfactor and Article Influence scores are freely available at http://www.eigenfactor.org.
The Impact Factor is only available through a paid subscription to Journal Citation Reports (JCR) from Thomson Reuters. JCR also contains the Eigenfactor and Article Influence scores.
/Page Contact: ANU Library Communication
+61 2 6125 5111
The Australian National University, Canberra
CRICOS Provider : 00120C
ABN : 52 234 063 906
