Search the Library's collection of e-journals, e-resources and databases and find subject-specific resources.
Find out more about the world-class collections held by the Library and explore recently added titles.
Other collections
Improve your learning skills with training offered by the Information Literacy Program and discover ways to boost your research impact.
Key library services including borrowing and requesting material, as well as opening hours and branch information.
Related links
Find out what's happening in the Library and how you can get involved. Browse past presentations to catch up on what you missed or get further information.
Related links
General information about the Library and its people, planning and governance information plus the history of the Library.
Find out what services and facilities are available to different groups within ANU and the wider community.
The branch of library science concerned with the application of mathematical and statistical analysis to bibliography; the statistical analysis of books, articles, or other publications. (Oxford English Dictionary Online)
In other words…data about publications, or citation frequency.
Scientometrics is the branch of information science concerned with the application of bibliometrics to the study of the spread of scientific ideas; the bibliometric analysis of science. (Oxford English Dictionary Online)
A student asks you "What are the best journals in my field?"
A professor asks you "How do I check who is citing my articles? How many times have I been cited?"
A student asks you "How do I know this article is important?"
A professor asks you "How can I compare the research impact between journals so I know which journal should I publish in?"
Bibliometrics affects:
This guide includes content adapted with permission from Bodleian Libraries, University of Oxford and Robin Kear, Liaison Librarian, University of Pittsburgh.
80% of the citations come from about 20% of the journals cited, identifying a core list for a local journal collection.
-- (Chung, 2007)
The emergence of neuroeconomics
This map, constructed using journal-level citation data from the Journal Citation Reports, highlights the role of neuroeconomics in bringing together research in economics and in neuroscience.
Thomson Reuters (ISI Web of Knowledge)
/Page Contact: ANU Library Communication
+61 2 6125 5111
The Australian National University, Canberra
CRICOS Provider : 00120C
ABN : 52 234 063 906
