A library database is an online collection of scholarly resources.
Databases don't hold the resources, but provide the information needed to find it including the author, title, source, publication date, and often an abstract. Many databases have links to the full-text.
Databases can be interdisciplinary (covering several topics), or subject specific (focusing on one particular discipline).
The ANU Library subscribes to over 620 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items including scholarly journal articles; newspaper articles; images; streaming videos; music; and other academic publications.
Searching databases can be a great way to find reliable, peer-reviewed scholarly sources for your research and assessments.
CAB Abstracts covers significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health and nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources.
Agricola is the US National Agricultural Library catalogue. It provides citations to agricultural literature including books, periodical titles, web documents, audiovisual material, as well as indexed periodical articles, book chapters, and reprints. It is a service offered by the United States Department of Agriculture.
This index and full text database provides access to scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities and is based on the journal indexing of the Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS). Coverage from 1995 onwards.
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with over 84 million records of over 26,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 7,000 publishers. It provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.
The Sustainability collection from JSTOR is composed of academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society. The collection looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens, spanning over more than 30 disciplines.