LibGuides: Earth Sciences: Databases

Databases for Earth Science studies

Scopus
Scopus is a curated abstract and citation database of scholarly literature across 240 disciplines, covering documents dating back to 1788, cited references from 1970 onward, author profiles, books, publishers and institutional profiles.
Web of Science
The Web of Science consists of seven databases containing scholarly information in Science, Social Science, Arts and Humanities. This information has been gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more
CAB Abstracts
This bibliographic database, compiled by CAB INTERNATIONAL, covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health and nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. Over three million records have been added to the database since its computerisation in 1973. It is searchable on the Ovid platform.
ProQuest
A multidisciplinary database which provides access to 37 ProQuest databases, with a variety of content across more than 160 subjects including business, science and technology, health and medical, social science, arts and humanities, and international news. Contents include abstract, index, and full text articles.

What are databases?

A library database is an online collection of scholarly resources.

Databases don't hold the resources, but provide the information needed to find it including the author, title, source, publication date, and often an abstract. Many databases have links to the full-text.

Databases can be interdisciplinary (covering several topics), or subject specific (focusing on one particular discipline).

The ANU Library subscribes to over 720 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items including scholarly journal articles; newspaper articles; images; streaming videos; music; and other academic publications.

Searching databases can be a great way to find reliable, peer-reviewed scholarly sources for your research and assessments.

You can see the full range of databases on the Library's e-resources and databases page.

Featured database

This database has bibliographic records with abstracts for about 70% of the science citations and 60% of the social sciences citations. Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-; Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975. It allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author.