LibGuides: Biology: Indigenous resources in ANU Library Collections on Biology topics

ANU Graduate Attribute - Insight into Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples’ knowledges and Indigenous peoples’ perspectives (IP-GA)

Development of this content supports the ANU Graduate Attribute - Insight into Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples’ knowledges and Indigenous peoples’ perspectives (IP-GA). Content that explicitly explores Indigenous ways of knowing relevant to the discipline.

Indigenous resources in ANU LIbrary Collections on Biology topics can be explored from the boxes below.

Ecology and environmental management

Search the ANU Catalogue and SuperSearch with the following search terms to find books and articles and other resources on Indigenous topics in ANU Library Collections on ecology.

(ecology OR biodiversity OR biology) AND (aborig* OR "australian aborig*" OR "aboriginal australian" OR "first nations" OR "australian indigenous" OR "indigenous australia*" OR indigenous OR "first nations" OR "torres strait" OR "torres strait islander")

A select list of ebooks is in the box below and click here for the full search results for books and ebooks and for a selection of journal articles on the topic.

Understanding Human Ecology by Robert Dyball; Barry Newell
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2023
Provides a conceptual framework for Human Ecology to actually deliver what it promises and to distinguish Human Ecology from other studies or approaches that, however important, merely recognize the presence of humans as agents that affect ecosystems.
Vegetation of Australian Riverine Landscapes by Samantha Capon (Editor); Cassandra James (Editor); Michael Reid (Editor)
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2016
This book highlights the biology, ecology and management of the incredibly diverse riverine vegetation across Australia Vegetation communities in Australia's riverine landscapes are ecologically, economically and culturally significant.
Indigenous Knowledge for Climate Change Assessment and Adaptation by Douglas Nakashima (Editor); Igor Krupnik (Editor); Jennifer T. Rubis (Editor)
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2018
This unique transdisciplinary publication is the result of collaboration between UNESCO's Local and Indigenous Knowledge Systems (LINKS) programme, the United Nations University's Traditional Knowledge Initiative, the IPCC, and other organisations. Chapters, written by indigenous peoples, scientists and development experts, provide insight into how diverse societies observe and adapt to changing environments.
Indigenous Peoples and Environmental Issues by Bruce E. Johansen
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2003
From Argentina to Zimbabwe, the industrialized world's encroachment on native lands has brought disastrous environmental harm to indigenous peoples. More than 170 native peoples around the world are facing life-and-death struggles to maintain environments threatened by oil spills, explosions, toxic chemicals, global warming, and other pollutants.

Indigenous plant use and management

Search the ANU Catalogue and SuperSearch with the following search terms to find books and articles and other resources on Indigenous topics in ANU Library Collections on plant science.

(plant OR botany OR seed OR crop) AND (aborig* OR "australian aborig*" OR "aboriginal australian" OR "first nations" OR "australian indigenous" OR "indigenous australia*" OR indigenous OR "first nations" OR "torres strait" OR "torres strait islander")

A select list of ebooks is in the box below and click here for the full search results for books and ebooks and for a selection of journal articles on the topic.

Phytochemistry of Australia's Tropical Rainforest: Medicinal Potential of Ancient Plants by Williams, Cheryll J
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2018
Rare, unique and irreplaceable – precious native rainforests occupy a precariously small part of Australia while retaining a remarkable level of both biological and chemical diversity unrivalled by any other ecosystem. Australia's ancient history and traditions are intimately intertwined with the rainforest plants that humans have utilised as both food and medicine. Phytochemistry of Australia's Tropical Rainforest is a record of this history and details how our understanding of these plants has led to the discovery of anaesthetics, analgesics, steroids, antimalarials and more.
Discovering Aboriginal Plant Use by Philip A. Clarke
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2014
The career of a museum-based anthropologist is diverse, involving the curation of artifact collections, organizing exhibits, answering inquiries, and conducting fieldwork.
Ethnobotany and Ethnopharmacology of Medicinal and Aromatic Plants by Mohd Adnan (Editor); Mitesh Patel (Editor); Mejdi Snoussi (Editor)
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2023
Features: * Includes computational approaches to study the pharmacological properties of biomolecules in medicinal and aromatic plants. * Details methods in ethnopharmacology including chromatographical and analytical techniques.
Held by the Land by Leigh Joseph
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2023
The beautifully illustrated Held by the Land guides you through the traditional uses and properties of a selection of indigenous plants.

Genetics

Search the ANU Catalogue and SuperSearch with the following search terms to find books and articles and other resources on Indigenous topics in ANU Library Collections on genetics;

("genetics OR genom* OR DNA) AND (aborig* OR "australian aborig*" OR "aboriginal australian" OR "first nations" OR "australian indigenous" OR "indigenous australia*" OR indigenous OR "first nations" OR "torres strait" OR "torres strait islander")

A select list of ebooks is in the box below and click here for the full search results for books and ebooks and for a selection of journal articles on the topic.

Haunting Biology by Emma Kowal
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2023
In Haunting Biology Emma Kowal recounts the troubled history of Western biological studies of Indigenous Australians and asks how we now might see contemporary genomics, especially that conducted by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander scientists. Kowal illustrates how the material persistence of samples over decades and centuries folds together the fates of different scientific methodologies.
Nucleotide sequence diversity of HLA class II genes in Australian aborigines and populations of Asia-Oceania by Gao, Xiaojiang
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 1992
The aim of this thesis was to investigate nucleotide sequence diversity of HLA class II genes in Australian Aborigines and indigenous peoples of Asia-Oceania. Nineteen study populations represented eight major ethnic groups including Australian Aborigines, Papua New Guinean highlanders, coastal Melanesians, Polynesians, Micronesians, Javanese, southern and northern Chinese, and a minority group from northwestern China.
Ancestral DNA, Human Origins, and Migrations by Rene J. Herrera; Ralph Garcia-Bertrand
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2018
Ancestral DNA, Human Origins, and Migrations describes the genesis of humans in Africa and the subsequent story of how our species migrated to every corner of the globe.