Genetics: A Conceptual Approach focusses on the key concepts in genetics. The fourth edition includes new coverage on epigenetics, the first synthetic organism, our relationship to Neanderthals, microRNAs, and many other updates and recent discoveries.

Evolutionary quantitative genetics (EQG) provides a formal theoretical foundation for quantitatively linking natural selection and genetic variation to the rate and expanse of adaptive evolution. .

This volume represents work by five distinguished ecological geneticists, offering an up-to-date source for theoretical concepts and experiments in an exciting field. Combining ecological fieldwork and laboratory genetics, ecological genetics examines the adjustments and adaptations of wild populations to their environments.

Molecular Population Genetics is a general text covering one of the most active and exciting areas in biology. Combining advances in molecular biology and genomics with mathematical and empirical findings from population genetics, work in molecular population genetics has uncovered the extraordinary history of natural selection and demographic shifts in many organisms, including humans.

What are the genomic signatures of adaptations in DNA? How often does natural selection dictate changes to DNA? How does the ebb and flow in the abundance of individuals over time get marked onto chromosomes to record genetic history? Molecular population genetics seeks to answer such questions by explaining genetic variation and molecular evolution from micro-evolutionary principles.

This accessible primer encompasses the basic concepts, theories, and applied elements of life history evolution, including patterns of trait variability, underlying mechanisms of plastic/evolutionary change, and the practical utility of life-history traits as metrics of species/population recovery, sustainable exploitation, and risk of extinction.

One of the key questions is: can the origins of structures such as beaks, eyes, and shells be explained within a Darwinian framework? The answer seems to be yes, but only by expanding that framework. This book discusses the required expansion, and the current state of play regarding our understanding of evolutionary and developmental origins.

Historical biogeography--the study of the history of species through both time and place--first convinced Charles Darwin of evolution. This field was so important to Darwin's initial theories and line of thinking that he said as much in the very first paragraph of On the Origin of Species (1859) and later in his autobiography.

Biological evolution, the theory of natural selection and of common descent, is a triumph both of human reasoning and scientific undertaking. The biological discipline of evolution contains both a chronicle of human endeavour and the story of life on Earth. This book is concerned with living forms and how they developed from 'simple and unpromising beginnings'.

Ecology: Concepts and Applications places great emphasis on helping students grasp the main concepts of ecology, while keeping the presentation more applied than theoretical. An evolutionary perspective forms the foundation of the entire discussion.

Predator-prey interactions are ubiquitous, govern the flow of energy up trophic levels, and strongly influence the structure of ecological systems. They are typically quantified using the functional response - the relationship between a predator's foraging rate and the availability of food.

Conceptual Breakthroughs in Evolutionary Ecology fills that knowledge gap in a thought-provoking and readable format. Written by a world-renowned evolutionary ecologist, this book embodies a unique blend of expertise in combining theory and experiment, population genetics and ecology.

Molecular Cell Biology remains the most authoritative and cutting-edge resource available for the cell biology course.

This primer covers the study of cells and how it is fundamental to biological inquiry, yet few cells are big enough to be seen with the naked eye. That means cells must be studied indirectly, most obviously through the use of microscopes, but also through molecular techniques.

Viruses interact with all forms of life and have shaped evolution for 4 billion years. The COVID-19 pandemic highlights the importance of conducting scientific research into viruses to understand the interactions between them and their hosts.

This textbook helped to define the field of Behavioural Ecology. In this fourth edition the text has been completely revised, with new chapters and many new illustrations and full colour photographs. The theme, once again, is the influence of natural selection on behaviour - an animal's struggle to survive and reproduce by exploiting and competing for resources, avoiding predators, selecting mates and caring for offspring.

This book makes available a set of principles for how to study the organisation of behaviour and, in turn, for how to use those insights to select what to measure. The authors provide enough theory to allow the reader to understand the derivation of the principles, and draw on numerous examples to demonstrate clearly how the principles can be applied.

Throughout their lives animals must complete many tasks, including finding food, avoiding predators, attracting mates, and navigating through a complex and dynamic environment. Consequently, they have evolved a staggering array of sensory organs that are fundamental to survival and reproduction and shape much of their evolution and behaviour.

The relentless loss of biodiversity is among the greatest problems facing the world today. The third edition of this established textbook provides an updated and comprehensive overview of the essential background, concepts, and tools required to understand how genetics can be used to conserve species, reduce threat of extinction, and manage species of ecological or commercial importance.

Population genetics is an inherently quantitative discipline, yet often focuses upon abstract concepts which can be difficult to conceptualize and appropriately visualize at first glance. This book focuses on applying the hugely popular R software specifically to the field, offering an accessible, step-by-step guide to tackling the challenges of achieving effective data interpretation and summary.

With recent technological advances, vast quantities of genetic and genomic data are being generated at an ever-increasing pace. The explosion in access to data has transformed the field of evolutionary genetics.

Evolutionary genetics of small populations -- inbreeding and loss of genetic diversity increase extinction risk -- Population fragmentation causes inadequate gene flow and increases extinction risk -- Genetic rescue resulting from gene flow -- Appropriate delineation of species for conservation purposes -- Are there populations suffering genetic erosion that would benefit from gene flow? -- Managing gene flow among isolated population fragments

How genes are not the only basis of heredity--and what this means for evolution, human life, and disease For much of the twentieth century it was assumed that genes alone mediate the transmission of biological information across generations and provide the raw material for natural selection. In Extended Heredity, leading evolutionary biologists Russell Bonduriansky and Troy Day challenge this premise.

Kaplan's Principles of Plant Morphology defines the field of plant morphology, providing resources, examples, and theoretical constructs that illuminate the foundations of plant morphology and clearly outline the importance of integrating a fundamental understanding of plant morphology into modern research in plant genetics, development, and physiology.

This book focuses on the fundamentals of plant physiology for undergraduate and graduate students. It consists of 34 chapters divided into five major units.

This thoroughly revised and updated edition provides an accessible overview of the rapidly advancing field of plant physiology. Key topics covered include absorption of water, ascent of sap, transpiration, mineral nutrition, fat metabolism, enzymes and plant hormones.

Long acclaimed as the definitive introductory botany text, Raven Biology of Plants stands as the most significant revision in the book's history.

For courses in two-semester general chemistry. Unrivaled problem sets, notable scientific accuracy and currency, and remarkable clarity have made Chemistry: The Central Science the leading general chemistry text for CHEM1101.

Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them.

Biochemistry Second Edition, is a single-semester text designed for undergraduate non-biochemistry majors.

Principles of Medical Biochemistry has integrated medical biochemistry with molecular genetics, cell biology, and genetics to provide complete yet concise coverage that links biochemistry with clinical medicine.

The book illustrates how Darwin's theory has evolved, about the development of the biological world before Darwin, and great changes that took place with the incorporation of statistics, and after Darwin's death of genetics and mathematics. The formation of 'Modern Synthesis', protein electrophoresis, Discovery of DNA opened new avenues for the study of evolution.

Based on a comprehensive empirical synthesis of global patterns of species diversity and their drivers, A Theory of Global Biodiversity develops and applies a new theory that can predict such patterns from few underlying processes.

"The Evolution of Phylogenetic Systematics " aims to make sense of the rise of phylogenetic systematics its methods, its objects of study, and its theoretical foundations with contributions from historians, philosophers, and biologists.