LibGuides: Screen Studies: Streaming

Video streaming

Contemporary Global Issues in Video
Contemporary Global Issues in Video delves deeper into the themes explored in the existing Global Issues collections. The films cover humanitarian and environmental issues: from child trafficking and migration to refugee camps; and human rights issues such as post-conflict support and LGBTQ+ rights. To environmental concerns around plastic pollution, the disappearance of bees; natural disasters and more accounts on the Chernobyl Disaster. It addresses also social issues including anti-corruption protests, indigenous people's movements and the impact of technology on global security.
A collection of 119 videos on the Alexander Street database platform.
Dance Online: Dance in Video
Dance Online: Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance
Ethnographic Video Online
A comprehensive audio-visual encyclopaedia of human behaviour and culture which includes material from every continent. Thematic areas include language and culture, body language, cooking, family structures, music and the arts, gender, and more. It contains classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage, and selected feature films.
Opera in Video
A collection of opera and concert performance videos that can be viewed online including staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Multiple performances of major operas from the Baroque to the 20th century allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses and conductors.

Shakespeare's Globe on Screen (2008-2015)
Founded by the American actor and director Sam Wanamaker, Shakespeare’s Globe celebrates Shakespeare’s transformative impact on the world. Inspired by two beautiful, iconic theatres, the Globe's diverse programme of work harnesses the power of performance and excites learning to make his work accessible to all.
BBC Drama Films and Documentaries
This collection features stunning film adaptations of classic and contemporary plays from Sophocles and Shakespeare, to Oscar Wilde, Henrik Ibsen, August Strindberg, Bernard Shaw and contemporary writers, Michael Frayn and Joe Penhall.

Audio streaming

Classical Music Reference Library
Classical Music Reference Library brings together a variety of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
Since its first publication in 1997, The Garland Encyclopedia has been the preeminent reference work for research in this area and a favorite of libraries everywhere. It has won numerous awards, including the Dartmouth Medal, the New York Public Library Outstanding Reference Book award, and Library Journal’s award as one of the 50 Reference Sources for the Millennium. Now for the first time, the entire set of ten print volumes is available as a single, integrated online collection, with additional features from Alexander Street.

Scholars and students will be able to browse and search hundreds of articles about the music of every continent. Besides appealing to ethnomusicologists, the accessible writing style will appeal to a much broader audience—with rich content that brings a new dimension to the study of history, sociology, diversity, cultural anthropology, and other disciplines.
Smithsonian Global Sound
A database of music recordings from around the world, drawn primarily from the archives of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Coverage includes American folk, blues, bluegrass, country, world, jazz, classical, Broadway, spoken word, sounds and children’s recordings.