This authoritative and up-to-date A-Z covers all aspects of interpersonal, mass, and networked communication, including digital and mobile media, advertising, journalism, and nonverbal communication.

This volume is designed to bridge the gap between guides and dictionaries that are academic and theoretical and those that deal in technical jargon. It contains entries ranging from best boy and gaffer to those required by specialist students of film.

The Historical Dictionary of Film Noir is a comprehensive guide that ranges from 1940 to present day neo-noir. It consists of a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, a filmography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on every aspect of film noir and neo-noir, including key films, personnel (actors, cinematographers, composers, directors, producers, set designers, and writers), themes, issues, influences, visual style, cycles of films (e.g. amnesiac noirs), the representation of the city and gender, other forms (comics/graphic novels, television, and videogames), and noir's presence in world cinema. It is an essential reference work for all those interested in this important cultural phenomenon.

Arranged alphabetically by composer, the volume comprises over 500 entries covering all nationalities. Each entry includes very brief biographical information on the composer, followed by a list of the films (with dates) for which he or she has composed. Details of recordings are also given. The dictionary's international coverage ensures that it will become a standard reference work for all those interested in the history of twentieth-century music and the development of film.

The Historical Dictionary of British Cinema has a lot of ground to cover. This it does with over 300 dictionary entries informing us about significant actors, producers and directors, outstanding films and serials, organizations and studios, different films genres from comedy to horror, and memorable films, among other things. Two appendixes provide lists of award-winners. Meanwhile, the chronology covers over a century of history.

Outlining the richness of German film, The A to Z of German Cinema covers mainstream, alternative, and experimental film from 1895 to the present through a chronology, introductory essay, appendix of the 100 most significant German films, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on directors, actors, films, cinematographers, composers, producers, and major historical events that greatly affected the direction and development of German cinema.

A list of award winning Japanese films. Japanese language text.

This volume is designed to bridge the gap between guides and dictionaries that are academic and theoretical and those that deal in technical jargon. It contains entries ranging from best boy and gaffer to those required by specialist students of film.