LibGuides: Modern China Studies: Bibliographies and encyclopaedias

Bibliographies

Apart from the bibliography you are to put into your own work and that lists the materials you used, a bibliography is also a list of writings with descriptive or critical notes relating to a particular subject. It can help you to narrow down the amount of material and gives you a great overview over the most relevant writings. A great way to continue after having checked the encyclopedias. A search for bibliographies for Chinese Studies can be done through this link: Search for bibliographies

Here are some very useful ones:

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Essential resource
The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is the most comprehensive Western-language database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. It covers all subjects with special focus on the humanities and social sciences. Updated continuously.

China Bibliography by Harriet T. Zurndorfer
Call Number: MENZIES: DSZ3016.Z87 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Even though this book was published quite some time ago its value lies in explaining how bibliographical data on China has accumulated over the last 300 years (including within China itself), and it also may help the reader understand the significance of a particular type of reference work.
中国関係論說資料 Chūgoku kankei ronsetsu shiryō by Ronsetsu Shiryo Hozonkai
Call Number: MENZIES Serials JapPer
Publication Date: 1964 ++
A bibliography on recent articles on China. Mostly in Japanese, some in English and Chinese

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias give you a good introduction into a research topic, and lead to to important materials. Here are some major encyclopedias for China Studies.

Brill's Encyclopedia of China
Call Number: View Online (ANU staff and students only)
Publication Date: 2012-
Brill’s Encyclopedia of China is the first place to look for reliable information on the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China by B. G. Hook
Call Number: MENZIES: DS705.C35 1991
Publication Date: 1991
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China provides accounts of developments in China, from the economic reforms and increased freedoms of the early 1980s to the crisis of 1989 and its aftermath.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China by Mary Bagg (Editor)
Call Number: MENZIES Reference DS735.A2 B47 2009
Publication Date: 2008
This encyclopedia is meant for any person - student, teacher, businessperson, government official, tourist - who seeks an understanding of China, in the past, present, and future.
Encyclopedia of Chinese Language and Linguistics (5 Volumes) by Rint Sybesma et al.
Call Number: MENZIES Reference PL1031.E53 2017
Publication Date: 2017
The Encyclopedia of Chinese Language and Linguistics offers a systematic and comprehensive overview of the languages of China and the different ways in which they are and have been studied.
Ideography and Chinese Language Theory by Timothy Michael O'Neill
Call Number: View online (ANU staff and students only)
Publication Date: 2016
This book examines why and when and how misunderstandings of Chinese writing came about and showcases the long history of Chinese theories of language.
Chinese Language(S) by Maria Kurpaska
Call Number: MENZIES PL1547 K87 2010, and online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2010
The major aim of the book is to trace the current structuring of the Chinese language(s) on the ground of Chinese linguistics.