LibGuides: Modern China Studies: Reference sources

What are reference sources?

Reference sources are resources used to locate basic information and secondary literature.

There are many types of reference sources, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, handbooks, guides, and style manuals.

They are a fantastic places to begin your research, especially if you are exploring a new topic.

Reference sources can help you to:

define your topic in general terms
find background information, including themes and key points
identify keywords and alternative terms for conceptualising your subject, and for database searching.

Key resources

The ALA Guide to Researching Modern China by Yunshan Ye
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]

Publication Date: 2014

This richly detailed work guides researchers to the most important resources in the field of Modern China Studies. Offers strategies for finding primary sources such as government documents and archives and guidance on how to acquire print and electronic resources in Chinese.
The Routledge Handbook of Chinese Studies by Chris Shei (Editor); Weixiao Wei (Editor)
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]

Publication Date: 2021

The handbook covers a wide spectrum of concerns in Chinese Studies, ranging from the Chinese political system and domestic governance to international relations, Chinese culture, literature and history, Chinese sociology and Chinese opposition and activism.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China by Mary Bagg (Editor)
Call Number: MENZIES Reference: DS735.A2 B47 2009

Publication Date: 2008

This encyclopedia is focused on the events, concepts, and people that matter today, serving a wider audience than just academics.
Brill's Encyclopedia of China by Daniel Leese (Editor)
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]

Publication Date: 2008

A convenient reference on China from its early beginnings, with a clear focus on the modern period from the mid-nineteenth century to the 21st century. Covering the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China.
Twentieth Century China by James H. Cole
Call Number: MENZIES Reference: DSZ1035.8.C5 C45 2004 and online [ANU Staff and Students only]

Publication Date: 2003

This bibliography of reference works from Chinese, Japanese and Western language sources covers: the 1911 Revolution; the Republic of China (1912-1949); the People's Republic of China (1949 onwards); post-1911 Hong Kong and Macau; and post-1911 overseas Chinese.
Encyclopedia of China: The essential reference to China, its history and culture by Dorothy Perkins
Call Number: MENZIES Reference: DS705 .P47 1999

Publication Date: 1998

Contains more than 1,000 entries exploring all aspects of China's past, present and future. Subjects include provinces and major cities; religions; Chinese communities around the world; and much more.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China by Brian Hook, Denis C. Twitchett
Call Number: MENZIES: DS705.C35 1991

Publication Date: 1991

Even though a little outdated today, expert contributors in 1991 have thoroughly revised and updated the Encyclopedia to take full account of the at that time most recent developments in China, from the economic reforms and increased freedoms of the early 1980s to the crisis of 1989 and its aftermath.
中国組織别人名簿 Chūgoku soshikibetsu jinmeibo
Call Number: MENZIES Reference: JQ1507.C44

Publication Date: every year

China directory in pinyin and Chinese. This resource lists names, titles, and functions of politicians in the PRC. In Japanese. For short biographical information on the CCCP members please also see under "Websites" - "MacroPolo".

General introductions (history, social sciences)

Empire in Asia by Brian P. Farrell
Call Number: MENZIES: DS33.3 E47 2018

Publication Date: 2018

Volume I traces the evolution of a constellation of competing empires in Asia. It describes the history and characteristic features of imperial regimes from the 13th to the 18th centuries in each major sub-region of Asia. Volume II covers the 19th century, and explores the dynamic, volatile and contested processes by which Asian states by the early years of the 20th century became deeply integrated into the wider dynamics of global reordering.