The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition covers a wide range of topics related to Second Language Acquisition: language in context, linguistic, psycholinguistic, and neurolinguistic theories and perspectives, skill learning, individual differences, L2 learning settings, and language assessment. All chapters introduce the reader to the topic, outline the core issues, then explore the pedagogical application of research in the area and possible future development.

The Routledge Handbook of Second Language Acquisition and Individual Differences provides a thorough, in-depth discussion of the theory, research, and pedagogy pertaining to the role individual difference (ID) factors play in second language acquisition (SLA). It goes beyond the traditional repertoire and includes 32 chapters covering a full spectrum of topics on learners' cognitive, conative, affective, and demographic/sociocultural variation. The volume examines IDs from two perspectives: one is how each ID variable is associated with learning behaviors, processes, and outcomes; the other is how each domain of SLA, such as vocabulary or reading, is affected by clusters of ID variables. The volume also includes a section on the common methods used in ID research, including data elicitation instruments such as surveys, interviews, and psychometric testing, as well as methods of data analysis such as structural equation modeling. The book is a must-read for any second language researcher or applied linguist interested in investigating the effects of IDs on language learning, and for any educator interested in taking account of learners' individual differences to maximize the effects of second language instruction.

This Handbook provides an account of research in language policy and planning (LPP). Through an examination of LPP, the Handbook offers new direction for a field in theoretical and methodological turmoil as a result of the socio-economic, institutional, and discursive processes of change taking place under the conditions of Late Modernity. Part I defines alternative theoretical and conceptual frameworks in LPP, emphasizing developments since the ethnographic turn, including: ethnography in LPP; historical-discursive approaches; ethics, normative theorizing, and transdisciplinary methods; and the renewed focus on socio-economic class. Part II examines LPP against the background of influential ideas about language shaped by the institutions of the nation-state, with close attention to the social position of minority languages and specific communities facing profound language policy challenges. Part III investigates the turmoil and tensions that currently characterize LPP research under conditions of Late Modernity. Finally, Part IV presents an integrative summary and directions for future LPP research.

This Handbook is a complete 'state-of-the-field' survey, covering language practices, beliefs about language varieties, and methods and agencies for language management. It provides a historical background which traces the development of classical language planning, describes activities associated with indigenous and endangered languages, and contains chapters on imperialism, colonialism, effects of migration and globalization, and educational policy. It also evaluates language management agencies, analyzes language activism and looks at language cultivation (including reform of writing systems, orthography and modernized terminology).

The Oxford Handbook of Applied Linguistics contains forty chapters on a broad range of topics in applied linguistics. Its goal is to provide a comprehensive survey of the current state of the field, the many connections among its varioussub-disciplines, and the likely directions of its future development. The volume addresses the diversity of questions facing applied linguists today: What isthe place of applied linguistics in the architecture of the university? Where does applied linguistics fit into the sociology of knowledge? What are the questions that applied linguistics ought to be addressing? What are the dominant paradigms guiding research in the field? What kinds of problemscan be solved through the mediation of applied linguistics? What aspects of linguistics can be empirically applied to language-based problems, and what spaces resist such application? What will new students of applied linguistics need to know in the coming years? This second edition includes three new chapters, and the remaining chapters have been thoroughly revised and updated to give a clear picture of the current state of applied linguistics.

This volume focuses on the main debates and research advances in second language assessment in the last fifty years or so, showing the influence of linguistics, politics, philosophy, psychology, sociology, and psychometrics. Part I deals with the conceptual foundations of second language assessment with chapters on the purposes of assessment, and standards and frameworks, as well as matters of scoring, quality assurance, and test validation. Part II addresses the theory and practice of assessing different second language skills including aspects like intercultural competence and fluency. Part III examines the challenges and opportunities of second language assessment in a range of contexts. In addition to chapters on second language assessment on a national scale, there are chapters on learning-oriented assessment, as well as the uses of second language assessment in the workplace and for migration. Part IV examines a selection of important issues in the field that deserve attention. These include the alignment of language examinations to external frameworks, the increasing use of technology to both deliver and score second language tests, the responsibilities associated with assessing test takers with special needs, the concept of 'voice' in second language assessment, and assessment literacy for teachers and other test and score users.

The Handbook of Educational Linguistics is a single volume overview of educational linguistics, written by leading specialists in its many relevant fields. It takes into account the diverse theoretical foundations, core themes, major findings, and practical applications of educational linguistics; and highlights the multidisciplinary reach of educational linguistics.

This Handbook discusses the latest global and interdisciplinary issues across bilingualism and multilingualism. It provides coverage of bilingual and multilingual communities, polyglot aphasia, creolization, indigenization, linguistic ecology and endangered languages, multilingualism, and forensic linguistics. It covers a wide variety of topics, ranging from neuro- and psycho-linguistic research to studies of media and psychological counseling, and assesses the latest issues in worldwide linguistics, including the phenomena and the conceptualization of 'hyperglobalization', and emphasizes geographical centers of global conflict and commerce.

The Handbook of Applied Linguistics is a collection of articles that provide a picture of the field of Applied Linguistics. The articles examine both the applications of linguistics to language data and the use of real world language to ameliorate social problems. It presents applied linguistics as an independent discipline that unifies practical experience and theoretical understanding of language development and language in use.

This second edition of The Routledge Handbook of Language Testing provides an updated account of the area of language testing and assessment. There are five new chapters covering the four skills: reading, writing, listening, and speaking, as well as a new entry on corpus linguistics and language testing. It also includes a dedicated section on technology in language testing, reflecting current trends in the field.

Language Testing is a fully peer reviewed international journal that publishes original research and review articles on language testing and assessment. It provides a forum for the exchange of ideas and information between people working in the fields of first and second language testing and assessment. This includes researchers and practitioners in EFL and ESL testing, and assessment in child language acquisition and language pathology.

Language Assessment Quarterly: An International Journal (LAQ) is dedicated to the advancement of theory, research, and practice in first, second, and foreign language assessment for school, college, and university students; for employment; and for immigration and citizenship. LAQ publishes original articles addressing theoretical issues, empirical research, and professional standards and ethics related to language assessment, as well as interdisciplinary articles on related topics, and reports of language test development and testing practice. All articles are peer-reviewed.

The purpose of LTA is to acknowledge and showcase scholarly findings in Asia and the Asia-Pacific region in the field of language assessment. A broad definition of Asia is used, which includes any countries east of the Suez Canal and south of the Caspian and Black seas, to Japan in the east and Indonesia in the south. More recently, it has been decided to further expand the area of study to Oceania. The journal aims at exploring the applicability of language assessment methods in local contexts, examining new proposals and ideas, and contributing to the discussion about transparent and effective frameworks for language education in Asia.

This journal covers both language policy and educational policy. It presents policies concerning the status and form of languages as well as acquisition policies pertaining to the teaching and learning of languages. It contains detailed accounts of promoting and managing language policy and research papers on the development, implementation and effects of language policy in all regions of the world and under different conditions. The journal also includes empirical studies that contribute to a theory of language policy.

Assessing Writing is a refereed international journal providing a forum for ideas, research and practice on the assessment of written language. Assessing Writing publishes articles, book reviews, conference reports, and academic exchanges concerning writing assessments of all kinds, including traditional ('direct' and standardised forms of) testing of writing, alternative performance assessments (such as portfolios), workplace sampling and classroom assessment.

Assessment in Education provides a focus for scholarly output in the field of assessment. The journal is explicitly international in focus and encourages contributions from a wide range of assessment systems and cultures. The journal's intention is to explore both commonalities and differences in policy and practice.

Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education is an established international peer-reviewed journal which publishes papers and reports on all aspects of assessment and evaluation within higher education. Its purpose is to advance understanding of assessment and evaluation practices and processes, particularly the contribution that these make to student learning and to course, staff and institutional development.

Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis (EEPA) publishes manuscripts of theoretical or practical interest to those engaged in educational evaluation or policy analysis, including economic, demographic, financial, and political analyses of education policies, and significant meta-analyses or syntheses that address issues of current concern. The journal seeks high-quality research on how reforms and interventions affect educational outcomes; research on how multiple educational policy and reform initiatives support or conflict with each other; and research that informs pending changes in educational policy at the federal, state, and local levels, demonstrating an effect on early childhood through early adulthood.

The primary purpose of Educational Measurement: Issues and Practice (EM:IP) is to promote a better understanding of and reasoned debate on assessment, evaluation, testing, and related issues of practical importance to educators and the public. To this end, EM:IP publishes articles that are both timely and have the potential to advance the policies and practices of educational measurement.

Evaluation & Research in Education aims to make methods and contents of evaluation and research in education available to teachers, administrators and research workers. Papers published in the quarterly journal: (1) report evaluation and research findings; (2) treat conceptual and methodological issues; and/or (3) consider the implications of the above for action. There is an extensive book reviews section and also occasional reports on educational materials and equipment.

PLTA is a peer reviewed international journal and is one of only five journals dedicated exclusively to language testing and assessment. PLTA offers an opportunity for both new and experienced researchers to publish original research papers, essays/discussion papers and research digests on language testing and assessment issues, as well as book reviews and test reviews. It is published annually or biannually.