Darkinyung is an Aboriginal language of New South Wales which is now again being taught and learned. Caroline Jones (Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Education, University of Wollongong) has worked alongside the Darkinyung Language Group to develop a concise and authentic record of what is known of Darkinyung language today, based on research into historical sources mainly from the nineteenth century. This first modern documentation of Darkinyung language includes: an explanation of the speech sounds and a suggested writing system, how the grammar works in accessible terms with examples, a database of source words including R. H. Mathews’ notebook material, several dictionary list formats suited for different learners’ needs.

This book pursues the question of how and whether natural language allows for reference to abstract objects in a fully systematic way. By making full use of contemporary linguistic semantics, it presents a much greater range of linguistic generalizations than has previously been taken into consideration in philosophical discussions, and it argues for an ontological picture is very different from that generally taken for granted by philosophers and semanticists alike.

This text presents the student with three contemporary approaches for investigating text, practices and contexts in which language-related problems are implicated. Divided into three parts, the reader focuses in turn on the different approaches, showing how each is relevant to addressing real world problems, including those relating to contemporary educational practices.

In this core textbook, Laurie Bauer's engaging style brings linguistics to life and introduces readers to the fundamentals of the subject. Each essential area of linguistics is dealt with in turn, thereby providing readers with a clear and comprehensive overview of all the core topics, including semantics, syntax, phonology and pragmatics. Alongside definitions of key terms and explanations of how various issues slot together, this text also empowers readers by teaching them how to apply their knowledge to new data.

Written by internationally renowned academics, this volume provides a snapshot of the field of applied linguistics, and illustrates how linguistics is informing and engaging with neighbouring disciplines. The contributors present new research in the 'traditional' areas of applied linguistics, including multilingualism, language education, teacher-learner relationships, and assessment.

Offering the most current coverage available, A Course in Phonetics, 7e remains the authoritative text for the study of phonetics. Combining Peter Ladefoged's student-friendly writing style with Keith Johnson's comprehensive presentation, the Seventh Edition introduces concepts of speech production, describes speech in acoustic terms, and teaches practical phonetic skills including IPA transcription. Expanded sections on acoustic phonetics and speech motor control bring instructors up to date and help students use tools for digital inspection and manipulation of speech. Numerous updates include MRI images of vocal tracts.

This edited volume provides up-to-date, succinct, relevant, and informative discussion about methods of data collection in sociolinguistic research. It covers the main areas of research design, conducting research, and sharing data findings with longer chapters and shorter vignettes written by a range of top sociolinguists, both veteran and emerging scholars.

The central assertion in this volume is that the young child uses general skills, scaffolded by adults, to acquire the complex knowledge of sound patterns and the goal-directed behaviors for communicating ideas through language and producing speech. A child's acquisition of phonology is seen as a product of her physical and social interaction capacities supported by input from adult models about ambient language sound patterns. Throughout, an evaluation is made of the research on patterns of typical development across languages in monolingual and bilingual children and children with speech impairments affecting various aspects of their developing complex system. Also considered is the status of available theoretical perspectives on phonological acquisition relative to an emergence proposal, and contributions that this perspective could make to more comprehensive modeling of the nature of phonological acquisition are proposed.

Bringing the advances of theoretical linguistics to the study of language change in a systematic way, this innovative textbook demonstrates the mutual relevance of historical linguistics and contemporary linguistics. Numerous case studies throughout the book show both that theoretical linguistics can be used to solve problems where traditional approaches to historical linguistics have failed to produce satisfying results, and that the results of historical research can have an impact on theory.

This third edition of Miriam Meyerhoff's highly successful textbook provides a solid, up-to-date appreciation of the interdisciplinary nature of the field and covers foundation issues, recent advances and current debates. It presents familiar or classic data in new ways, and supplements the familiar with fresh examples from a wide range of languages and social settings. It clearly explains the patterns and systems that underlie language variation in use, as well as the ways in which alternations between different language varieties index personal style, social power and national identity.

Discourse analysis considers how language, both spoken and written, enacts social and cultural perspectives and identities. Assuming no prior knowledge of linguistics, An Introduction to Discourse Analysis examines the field and presents James Paul Gee's unique integrated approach which incorporates both a theory of language-in-use and a method of research. The third edition of this text has been extensively revised and updated to include new material such as examples of oral and written language, ranging from group discussions with children, adults, students and teachers to conversations, interviews, academic texts and policy documents.

Language and Culture in Aboriginal Australia provides a series of studies of aspects of language and culture in different parts of Aboriginal Australia. Chapters deal with subjects including why a young Aboriginal woman in rural Australia might end up pleading guilty to a crime she didn't commit; the picture of 'language ownership' which can be drawn from recent research on land rights; what we know of the first white settlers' attempts to learn the language of the Sydney region; the first dictionaries compiled in South Australia; and how Aboriginal languages are now being used in the media and education.

Second-language acquisition was born in the late 1960s as an interdisciplinary enterprise that borrowed equally from the feeder fields of linguistics, language teaching, child language acquisition, and psychology. Since then, it has expanded considerably in scope and methodology to the point that for many, by the end of the twentieth century, it had finally reached its coming of age as an autonomous discipline, a discipline that today is more than ever undergoing change, renovation, and expansion. This six-volume collection, a new title in Routledge's Critical Concepts in Linguistics series, offers a comprehensive survey of this burgeoning field, its accumulated findings and proposed theories, its developed research paradigms, and its pending questions for the future. Including both classical and cutting-edge research, the collected materials offer a cogent and nuanced panoramic of the past, present, and future of second-language acquisition research.

This text provides a systematic introduction to core topics in syntax, focusing on how the basic concepts apply in the analysis of sentences. It explains the fundamentals of phrase structure, movement and deletion. Much of the data comes from English, but crucial examples are also drawn from a range of other languages, including Russian, Chinese, Japanese, French, Italian, Spanish, Irish, Welsh and Greek.

Translating Livesis a book of revelations. It is a journey through an Australia composed of a multiplicity of languages and, therefore, many inner worlds. The journey moves, in a series of personal encounters, from indigenous languages, many of which were tragically lost, to the languages of our newest arrivals from all continents of the globe. Through embracing, nurturing and retrieving its many languages and linguistic hybrids, Australia can be re-imagined and transformed into a nation of countless dreamings. - Arnold Zable

Taking an accessible and cross-linguistic approach, Understanding Child Language Acquisition introduces readers to the most important research on child language acquisition over the last fifty years, as well as to some of the most influential theories in the field. Rather than just describing what children can do at different ages Rowland explains why these research findings are important and what they tell us about how children acquire language.

What is Sociolinguistics? is a tour through the major issues that define the field, such as region, status, gender, time, language attitudes, interaction, and style, while also exploring the sociolinguistics of multilingualism, culture and ethnicity, language contact, and education, all introduced with excitement, humor, and deep knowledge.

The Wanarruwa Beginner’s Guide is a step-by-step to understanding Wanarruwa, a language of the Hunter River area – beginning with the absolute essentials and building up the knowledge of how the pieces of the language work together. This step-by-step language learning format lends itself to being used as a basis for sequenced language teaching and, indeed, it is hoped that this will be the case. This guide should form the basis of any Wanarruwa language learning.