LibGuides: Chemistry: Reference Sources

What are reference sources

Reference sources are resources used to locate basic information and secondary literature.

There are many types of reference sources, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, handbooks, guides, and style manuals.

They are a fantastic places to begin your research, especially if you are exploring a new topic.

Reference sources can help you to:

define your topic in general terms
find background information, including themes and key points
identify keywords and alternative terms for conceptualising your subject, and for database searching.

A Dictionary of Chemistry by Jonathan Law (Editor); Richard Rennie (Editor)
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2020
A Dictionary of Chemistry is a popular and authoritative guide to all aspects of its discipline. With over 5,000 entries, its broad coverage includes physical chemistry and biochemistry, and is heavily informed by the most current research.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by Michael D. Larrañaga (Editor); Richard J. Lewis (Editor); et al
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2016
Significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology. Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions.
A Dictionary of Chemical Engineering by Carl Schaschke
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2014
A Dictionary of Chemical Engineering is one of the latest additions to the Oxford Paperback Reference series. In over 3,400 concise and authoritative A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for chemical engineering terms in areas including: materials, energy balances, reactions, separations, sustainability, safety, and ethics.

Encyclopedia of Radicals in Chemistry, Biology and Materials by Chryssostomos Chatgilialoglu; et al
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2012
The aim of this Encyclopedia is to offer for the first time a description of free radicals within an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary context, connecting structural characteristics and chemical properties to their applications in different areas of chemistry and related disciplines.
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry by R. Bruce King (Editor)
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2006
The Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry covers the following subject areas: Main Group Elements; Transition Metals and Coordination Chemistry; Organometallic Chemistry; Bioinorganic Chemistry; Solid State, Materials, Nanomaterials and Catalysis; and General Inorganic Chemistry, Theoretical and Computational Methods.

Handbook of Smart Materials in Analytical Chemistry by Francesc A. Esteve-Turrillas (Editor); Miguel de la Guardia (Editor)
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2019
A comprehensive guide to smart materials and how they are used in sample preparation, analytical processes, and applications.
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards by Peter Urben (Editor)
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2017
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards, 8th ed. presents the latest updates on the unexpected, but predictable, loss of containment and explosion hazards from chemicals and their admixtures and actual accidents. The extensively cross-referenced book enables readers to avoid explosion and loss of containment of chemicals.
Handbook of Reagents for Organic Synthesis by Tomislav Rovis (Editor)
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2016
Spurred by the desire to make chemistry a sustainable and "greener" technology, the field of organocatalysis has grown to become one of the most important areas in synthetic organic chemistry.