LibGuides: Environmental Law: Cases

Australian case citators

Australian case citators are important research tools for finding cases by topic. They provide references and links to reported and unreported judgments and also indicate relationships between cases, helping determine their precedent value.

CaseBase
CaseBase on Lexis+ provides access to case annotations. The database contains mainly Australian cases but some UK and NZ cases are included.
Westlaw AU Cases Advanced Search
Westlaw AU Cases Advanced Search provides access to case references, citations, litigation history, and digest information for Australian cases from 1825.

Open Access Case Sources

JADE (Judgments and Decisions Enhanced)
Decisions of Australian courts and tribunals and legislation from Australian States and Territories. The platform also has a current awareness service.
To use the extra features of JADE (such as case annotations, and analysis and visualisation tools) students can request a Professional account free of charge. Email: editors@jade.io.
AustLII (Australasian Legal Information Institute)
A free database of Australasian primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals) and secondary legal materials such as law reform reports and law journals.

Selected law reports

Environmental law decisions are reported in a wide range of law report series with three specialised series of Australian environmental cases.

Australian Resources Law Reports
The only specialist report series in Australia dealing with mining, energy and resources law.
Local Government and Environmental Reports of Australia
Local and environmental report series for the High Court, State and Territory Suprerme Courts, and the NSW Land and Environment Court.
Queensland Planning & Environment Law Reports
This database contains full text decisions of the Planning and Environment Court of Queensland from 1999 as selected by the Court.

Other general series that report environment cases are also listed below.