National Gallery Singapore is a leading visual arts institution which oversees the world’s largest public collection of Singapore and Southeast Asian modern art. The Gallery aims to be a progressive museum that creates dialogues between the art of Singapore, Southeast Asia and the world to foster and inspire a creative and inclusive society.
The Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, the Smithsonian’s national museum of Asian art, are located on the National Mall in Washington, D.C. Committed to preserving, exhibiting and interpreting exemplary works of art, the Freer and Sackler address broad questions about culture, identity and the contemporary world. Together, the Freer and Sackler care for exceptional collections of Asian art, with more than 40,000 objects dating from the Neolithic period to today and originating from the ancient Near East to China, Japan, Korea, South and Southeast Asia, and the Islamic world.
The Southeast Asian region stretches from Burma to Indonesia and Malaysia to Thailand. This book explores the arts of these countries in the context of shared historical and cultural phenomena, and in contrast, their diverse and distinct responses to common internal and external influences.
This exhibition presents a spectacular selection of works of art from the collection of the Art Gallery of SA. The exhibition features 120 works of art, which range in diversity from prehistoric stone sculpture to present day ritual painting, and provides an exciting introduction into the astonishing aesthetic heritage of SEA.
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only] & ART & MUSIC 709.59 B5658d 2015
Publication Date: 2015
This catalogue tracks the broad time periods and thematic sections of the exhibition with more than 300 artwork images. These are accompanied by essays that provide curatorial insight to a task as monumental and intricate as the positing an art history of a region as diverse as Southeast Asia.
One of the finest private collections of Indian, Himalayan and Southeast Asian art in America is owned by James and Marilynn Alsdorf. This catalogue provides an opportunity for individuals other than scholars and specialists to view the works of art.
The book presents a decade-long perspective on contemporary visual practices in India, with stunning visuals and insightful essays by leading intellectuals in the field. Engaging with a diversity of art practices and creative conditions, the publication (and exhibition) questions cultural structures that segregate visual practices, making a case for a polycentric aesthetic.
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2018
The Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Indonesia offers an overview of the modern making and contemporary dynamics of culture, society, and politics in this powerful Asian nation. It provides a comprehensive survey of key issues in Indonesian politics, economics, religion, and society. It is divided into six sections, organized as follows: Cultural Legacies and Political Junctures Contemporary Politics and Plurality Markets and Economic Cultures Muslims and Religious Plurality Gender and Sexuality Indonesia in an Age of Multiple Globalizations