LibGuides: Korean Studies: Journals and e-journals

Find journals using SuperSearch

SuperSearch is a portal that provides a single search across the majority of ANU Library resources.

SuperSearch is a great place to start searching for journal articles. Here are some tips to get you started:

Refine your results by using search filters.
- Select Articles under Format to search for articles only.
- Select Journals under Format to search for journals only.
Click Journal Search from the top menu to search by title or browse by category.
Use Advanced Search to filter by a particular date of publication, language or format.

You can get additional help with searching for journal articles through the Finding Library Resources.

Find print journals

If you can't find the journal you need online, you can also search for print issues. If a print journal is available, it will list the Library branch it is located in under Locations.

Issues of journals published before 1990 are usually stored off-campus at the ANU Print Repository. To access these, go to the item record and click on Print Repository under Find in Library and you will be prompted to fill in a request form. Make sure you are logged in!

Key journals

International Journal of Korean Studies
The journal is held within the Columbia International Affairs Online. Available form 1997 to 2022
Journal of Korean Studies
Published by the University of Washington. Online available through several channels.
Seoul Journal of Korean Studies
This journal is available though the KSI-KISS journal collection.

Bibliography of East Asian Periodicals (Colonial Korea 1900-1945)
University of Chicago Library collected bibliographic data on periodicals published between 1900 and 1945. The bibliography provides comprehensive information on a total of 913 periodicals from the colonial period (1910-1945), pre-colonial period (1896-1910), and post-colonial period from liberation in 1945 to the establishment of the Republic of Korea (ROK) and the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) in 1948. Pease note: It is not a full-text archive.
KOAJ - Korea Open Access Journals

DBpia

A multidisciplinary database of full text articles from Korean academic journals. Subjects include humanities, social science, natural science, engineering, medical science, ariculture and fishery, art and kinesiology, interdisciplinary studies.
KISS (Korean Studies Information Service System)

This database provides access to full text academic articles published by academic and research institutes in South Korea. KISS covers subjects such as languages, history, philosophy, literature, education, sociology, business/economics, law, science, mathematics, agriculture, engineering, medical science, arts and physical education.