Skip to Main Content

Skip navigation

Korean Studies

A guide to Korean Studies resources available from ANU Library

Historical dictionaries

Historical Dictionary of North Korea by Ilpyong J. Kim
Call Number: MENZIES DS933.7 .K55 2003

Publication Date: 2003

People, places, political system, economy, ideology, and the history that made and is North Korea are profiled in this work, focussing on Kim Jung-Il.
Historical Dictionary of Pyongyang by Justin Corfield
Call Number: View online [for ANU staff and students only]

Publication Date: 2013

The perfect comprehensive starting point for anyone looking to conduct research on Pyongyang, this historical dictionary is ideal for those who want to know more about the city's history and development.
Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Korea by Andrew C. Nahm; James E. Hoare
Call Number: MENZIES DS909 .N34 2004

Publication Date: 2004

How South Korea became a powerhouse is explained in this second edition of the Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Korea, from the prehistoric period until it became the Republic of Korea.
Korea: a Historical and Cultural Dictionary by Keith Pratt; Richard Rutt
Call Number: MENZIES DS904.8.P73 1999

Publication Date: 2013

This reference work contains approximately 1500 entries covering Korean civilisation from early times to the present day. Subjects include history, politics, art, archaeology, literature, and more.

Language dictionaries

Essential Korean Phrasebook and Dictionary by Soyeung Koh; Gene Baik
Call Number: View online [for ANU staff and students only]

Publication Date: 2017

Essential Korean Phrasebook & Dictionary, contains 2,500 practical phrases with over 2,000 terms and expressions .
Periplus Pocket Korean Dictionary by Seong-Chul Sim; Gene Baik
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and studends only]

Publication Date: 2016

Intended for use by tourists, students, and business people traveling to Korea, it is an essential tool for communication and a great way to learn Korean.
Tuttle Pocket Korean Dictionary by Kyubyong Park
Call Number: View online [ANU staff ans students only]

Publication Date: 2015

Intended for use by tourists, students, and business people traveling to Korea it is an essential tool for communicating in Korean. It features all the essential Korean vocabulary appropriate for beginning to intermediate students.

Language, online dictionaries and Romanisation reference sources online

Korean Romanization converter
Enter Korean and transliterate to Roman script, change Revised Romanization to McCune-Reischauer and back.
Korean Standard Dictionary 표준국어대사전
Korean - Korean dictionary
NAVER Dictionary 네이버 사전
Naver Dictionary 네이버 사전 is an online dictionary operated by the South Korean software company Naver. It allows translations into many languages, and also severs as an in-depth Korean-Korean dictionary. NAVER includes the entries from the Standard Korean Dictionary below
Turu Ch’aekpang 두루책방 (e-book collection for Korean learners)
Freely available textbooks for learning Korean. Texts are also read out aloud, with the words marked that are read.

more... less...

Cool.
Zon Hanja Dictionary 존한자사전
Zon Hanja Dictionary is a comprehensive dictionary for Chinese characters in Korean. It gives the pronunciation, English translation, meaning in Japanese and the Chinese Pinyin transliteration. Also shows sequence of strokes how each character is written, with templates to practice, and some script variants. A list of characters and their abbreviated forms is available too.

Last Updated: Oct 31, 2025 3:37 PM
URL: https://libguides.anu.edu.au/Korean
Print Page

Subjects: Asia & The Pacific, Korean Studies