This collection of primary source documents was curated by a U.S. government organization that became part of the CIA as part of a program monitoring media from around the world. The collection contains translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books covering the Korean and Vietnamese conflicts.

Here is a unique collection of rare documents relating to the Japanese occupation of Korea, from the late nineteenth century up to 1945, representing a highly significant period in Korean history, and vital for a true understanding of many reflexes in the Koreas today. In 1876, Japan “opened” Korea to outside contact for the first time. What followed was a period of sparring with the Chinese over the right of influence in Korea, a rivalry which culminated in the Sino- Japanese war of 1894-95. Following victory, Japan steadily increased its presence and interference in Korean matters until the outright annexation of the country in 1910. Korea would remain a Japanese colony until the end of the Pacific War in 1945. Drawn from the holdings of the C.V. Starr East Asian Library at Columbia University, New York, the collection includes more than 62,000 pages in Japanese language, 18,000 pages of Western (in most cases English) early impressions of Korea, and Korean texts (16,000 pages). This true treasure-trove, preserved through our online service, now presents the texts conveniently on your desktop.

A multidisciplinary database of full text articles from Korean academic journals. Subjects include humanities, social science, natural science, engineering, medical science, ariculture and fishery, art and kinesiology, interdisciplinary studies.

A multimedia database of Korean history and culture. The database covers subjects such as archaeology; Korean history, and art history.

This database provides access to full text academic articles published by academic and research institutes in South Korea. KISS covers subjects such as languages, history, philosophy, literature, education, sociology, business/economics, law, science, mathematics, agriculture, engineering, medical science, arts and physical education.

This database is a full text collection of excavation reports of historical sites in Korea operated by national and university museums, research institutions and associations since 1910. It includes the Collection of Japanese Colonial Government’s Researches on Korean Culture and History.

This Korean language ebook database includes many reference works like encyclopaedias; dictionaries; historical and archival resources; biographical sources, and other reference materials related to Korean history; literature; civilization, and medicine.

A collection of Korean legal material including law information; judicial precedents; official documents, and information on lawyers and law firms.

These primary sources are a hugely important resource for the study of missionary work, educational work, medical work, evangelism, political conflict, and the emergence of indigenous churches. The collections are truly global in scope, with Africa, East and South Asia, Australasia and the Pacific, and the Americas all well-represented. The sources will be of interest to scholars in a range of fields, from missiology to colonial history and anthropology.

This full-text database contains 4 major newspapers in South Korea: Kyonghyang Sinmun (1946-1999), Tonga Ilbo (1920-1999), Maeil Kyongje (1966-1999), and Han'gyore (1988-1999).

Pictori is an online repository of images for people interested in Korean history and culture. It allows users to view, use and discuss images, and upload their own. It also features a browsable geographical map that shows where photos were taken.