This book helps us comprehend the history of the region through a chronology, a glossary, a bibliography, an introduction, appendixes, maps, photographs, diagrams, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on the major (and many minor) sites, the more significant historical figures, the kingdoms they ruled over, the economic and social relations between them, and the artistic, cultural, and religious context.
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2014
This fourth edition of Dictionary of the Modern Politics of Southeast Asia contains profiles of each Southeast Asian country. Following this, it provides more than 450 alphabetically arranged individual entries providing detailed accounts and analyses on major episodes and treaties, political parties and institutions, civil society movements, and regional and international organizations.
This Dictionary provides descriptive and analytical coverage of the turbulent political history and striking changes which have occurred both regionally and in key countries since the end of the Second World War. The third edition of this acclaimed Dictionary will provide non-specialists and specialists alike with an essential resource on this constantly changing and volatile region.
Covering the countries of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam during the period from the first to the fifteenth century. The dictionary helps us comprehend the vast and complex history of the significant historical figures, the kingdoms they ruled over, the economic and social relations between them, and the artistic, cultural, and religious context.
This book offers hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on about 200 groups, the six countries they live in, some of their leaders, and their political, economic, social, cultural and religious aspects. The chronology covers important events. The introduction discusses both the diversities and similarities of the groups' ethnicities, languages, religious practices, and customs. And the bibliography supplements the dictionary entries.
This Dictionaryprovides definitions and explanations of economic and political terms and references relating to southeast Asia. The book contains entries covering various areas and issues, such as the recent history and economy of each country in the region, ethnic groups, political parties and party leaders, politicians, conflicts, regions, border disputes, key businesses and stock markets. Each entry provides a clear and concise explanation or definition of the term or name to which it refers.