The Digital Library of Lao Manuscripts makes images of over 12,000 texts from throughout Laos easily accessible for study. Collaborating institutions are the National Library of Laos, the University of Passau, and the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin Preußischer Kulturbesitz. The project is funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) and the German Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ).
DREAMSEA is s a program to preserve Southeast Asian manuscripts and their contents and aims to disclose the immense cultural treasures to the world. The main method used by DREAMSEA is to gather as much information as possible from Southeast Asian societies about the existence of manuscripts. After proper assessment and checking, a DREAMSEA team will digitise the manuscripts to save the literary heritage and safeguard cultural diversity without having to pay high financial costs. The digitised manuscripts will then be made fully and openly accessible online.
There are more than 2.000 manuscripts from Indonesia, Thailand, and Laos. You can trace every missions on the interactive map. Zoom in and out to point the locations, and click the marker to see the detailed informations. The identified manuscripts covered up to 27 languages, 18 scripts and various subject matters which contain very rich cultural diversity.
Khasanah Pustaka Nusantara ( Khastara ) is a single search portal for all the digital collections of the National Library of Indonesia. There are total 13062 collections from Ancient manuscripts, Rare Books, Maps, Rare magazines and Newspapers and more. This portal displays detailed collection information in full that supports the PDF Flip format for easy reading.
The Online Burma/Myanmar Library is a database which functions as an annotated, classified and hyperlinked index to full texts of individual Burma documents on the Internet. It also houses a growing collection of articles, conference papers, theses, books, reports, archives and directories on-site (e.g. the 17MB archive of the Burma Press Summary).
The Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL) exists to provide educators and their students, as well as scholars and members of the general public, with a wide variety of materials published or otherwise produced in Southeast Asia. Drawn largely from the collections of universities and individual scholars in this region, the SEADL contains digital facsimiles of books and manuscripts, as well as multimedia materials and searchable indexes of additional Southeast Asian resources. Nations represented in the collection include Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.
Southeast Asia Visions is a collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library's John M. Echols Collection. The site provides online access to more than 350 books written in English and French.
In the decade since it commenced, the Virtual Angkor project has evolved organically to encompass new technologies and approaches in an effort to present a comprehensive reconstruction of the city and its inhabitants. Virtual Angkor is a collaboration between archaeologists, historians and Virtual History specialists based in Australia, Cambodia and the United States. The project received the American Historical Association’s Roy Rosenzweig Prize for Innovation in Digital History in 2019 and the 2021 Digital Humanities and Multimedia Studies Prize from the Medieval Academy of America.
The Borobudur Temple Compound is one of the greatest Buddhist monuments in the world, and was built in the 8th and 9th centuries AD during the reign of the Syailendra Dynasty. The monument is located in the Kedu Valley, in the southern part of Central Java, at the centre of the island of Java, Indonesia. The main temple is a stupa built in three tiers around a hill which was a natural centre. The walls and balustrades are decorated with fine low reliefs illustrating the life and teachings of the Buddha. Around the circular platforms are 72 openwork stupas, each containing a statue of the Buddha.