LibGuides: Pacific Studies: Language resources

Language resources

Language atlas of the Pacific area by Stephen A. Wurm and Shirô Hattori (Editors)
Call Number: PRINT REPOSITORY P391.L3
Publication Date: 1981-1983
Extensive atlas of languages across the Pacific, New Guinea area, Oceania, Australia, Japan area, Taiwan, Philippines, Mainland and Insular South-East Asia. Published by the Australian Academy of the Humanities in collaboration with the Japan Academy.
The Oceanic Languages by John Lynch, Malcolm Ross & Terry Crowley
Call Number: MENZIES PL6172.L96 2002
Publication Date: 2002
An overview of the Oceanic subgroup of the Austronesian languages, embracing eastern Indonesia, Melanesia, Polynesia, and Micronesia. The references will allow those interested in particular topics, geographical areas or specific languages to delve further.

Dictionaries

ANU holds an extensive collection of Pacific language dictionaries. All dictionaries are listed in the Catalogue. Tok Pisin dictionaries are listed via these subject headings:

Selected Pacific Language dictionaries are highlighted below.

Cook Islands Maori dictionary with English-Cook Islands Maori finderlist by Jasper Buse with Raututi Taringa ; edited by Bruce Biggs and Rangi Moeka'a
Call Number: View Online - OPEN ACCESS
Publication Date: 1996
Cook Islands - Maori - English dictionary
A dictionary of Toqabaqita : (Solomon Islands) by Frantisek Lichtenberk
Call Number: View Online [ANU Staff & Students only]
Publication Date: 2008
Toqabaqita - English
An Illustrated Bislama-English and English-Bislama dictionary by Terry Crowley
Call Number: CHIFLEY PM7895.B4C76 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Bislama-English and English-Bislama dictionary
Pijin : a trilingual cultural dictionary by Christine Jourdan with the collaboration of Ellen Maebiru
Call Number: View Online - OPEN ACCESS
Publication Date: 2002
Pijin-Inglis-Franis, Pijin-English-French, Pijin-Anglais-Français
Samoan Dictionary by G. B. Milner
Call Number: MENZIES PL6501.Z5M5 1993
Publication Date: 1993
Samoan-English, English-Samoan
Tongan Dictionary by C. Maxwell Churchward
Call Number: MENZIES PL6531.Z5C48 1959
Publication Date: 1959
Tongan-English and English-Tongan