LibGuides: Taxation Law: Books/Encyclopaedias/Guides and Handbooks

Selected Texts

Australian master tax guide (print and online) by CCH Australia Limited
Call Number: KM335.A97
Income Tax by Michael Kobetsky; Catherine Brown; Rodney Fisher; Christine Peacock; Sylvia Villios; Peter Gillies
Call Number: KM337.11.K63 2016
Publication Date: 2016
This well respected text, now in its 9th edition, has been revised and updated to include the latest developments in taxation law.The company tax chapter comprehensively covers the taxation of companies, including the dividend imputation system and the carry-forward loss rules.The tax avoidance chapter includes recent case law.The deductions chapter incorporates recent case law on business deductions and deductions available to employees.The taxation of trusts chapter has been updated to include the most recent legislative changes in this area.The authors explain the principles of income tax law and other tax legislation. Commentary on the key tax concepts and extracts of leading cases illustrate the application of the principles.All chapters commence with a general overview of the material to be covered. The case extracts are introduced with an outline of the facts, the competing arguments and the decision of the court or tribunal. The other extracts include rulings, explanatory memorandums and government reports. The authors also use material from economics and politics to provide the context in which tax law has developed. This book is cross-referenced to other taxation books and contains internet citations for extracted cases.
Income tax : text, materials and essential cases by Michael Kobetsky; Catherine Brown; Rodney Fisher; Christine Peacock; Sylvia Villios; Peter Gillies
Call Number: KM337.11.K63 2016
Tax questions and answers by Bainb, K.,; Mortimer, Colleen
Call Number: KM337.1.T39
Publication Date: 2012

Tax Master Guides and Handbooks

Australian Master Superannuation Guide
Provides comprehensive coverage of matters in which superannuation tax practitioners may be involved
Australian Premium Master Tax Guide
Contains highlights of recent tax changes, tax calculators and guides to individuals, companies and small businesses

Encyclopedias

Legal encyclopaedias are a good starting point to find primary sources on a topic. They will help you to identify the key legal principles, the historical background, and as well as referring to relevant cases and legislation, may provide references to other writings on the subject.