Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Manage your Search Alerts, Author Citation Alerts and Document Citation Alerts with these tools:
Scopus (My Alerts)
Web of Science (My Citation Alerts)
Google Scholar Citations (Create a Profile and Track your Citations)
Hot papers and trends
Weekly tracking of highly-cited papers and topics in this free Web resource for science metrics and analysis. Includes interviews, essays, podcasts and profiles from scientists, journals, institutions, and nations. Uses citation data from Thomson Reuters (owner of ISI Web of Science).
Library Databases which offer Citation Tracking
Major databases which display citing articles:
Web of Science
Use (Cited by) in the results list or the Cited Reference Search tab. Also, (Times Cited) in result list.
Use (Citations) or (View Citation Overview) in the search results. There is an altmetrics app (may require you to create a free login account)
Available from some ProQuest databases.
Use (Citation Locator) (Items Citing this Item) in the search results.
Use (Cited By) in the search results. Google Scholar includes citations from an array of sources in its cited by calculation, including PowerPoints and Word documents. Search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites
Use (Cited by in PubMedCentral) in the search results.
Related references /Similar articles
Some of the many databases which display other articles on the same subject:
Web of Science
Use (Related Records) in search results, to find similar records based on shared references.
Use (Related Documents) in search results
Use (Similar documents) and/or (Documents with shared resources) in search results.
Use (Related Articles) in the search results.
Use (Related Items) in the search results
Use (Related Citations) in the search results.
CAB Abstracts, GeoRef, PsycINFO and more.
Use (Find Similar) in the search results.
The Affiliation Identifier in Scopus will track citations by organization. The database merges name variants.
Scopus will also give you data about all those citations by subject.
(access requires a subscription)