Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ANU Library website
The ANU Library website is your gateway to a world of authoritative knowledge. Materials can be accessed by searching the Library Catalogue, SuperSearch, databases or full text e-journals.
The Division of Information website provides information on computing and printing services for ANU students and staff.
International Refugee Law
This guide lists the major print and online sources for researching international refugee law. For broader resources see the International and Foreign Law guide and for domestic resources see the Australian Migration Law guide.
More detailed information on ANU Library resources and services is available from the ANU Library website
Information Advisors are available to assist you with your research. To speak to an advisor please come to the Information Desk in the Law Library, email firstname.lastname@example.org or phone 61254013.
For Australian law see the Law Library Guide.
Refugee Conventions and Instruments
Two principal conventions govern international refugee law: the 1951 Convention relating to the Status of Refugees and the 1967 Protocol to the Convention.The Convention defines refugee status and the legal obligations of signatory states and establishes the basic standards of treatment. The Protocol eliminates the geographic and time limitations of the 1951 Convention. Australia ratified the Convention on 22 January 1954 and the Protocol on 13 December 1973.
In addition, two regional instruments, the OAU Convention Governing the Specific Aspects of Refugee Problems in Africa and the 1984 Cartagena Declaration on Refugees, extend refugee rights to a broader class of people.
Other resources for finding international and regional instruments include:
Bayefsky's United Nations Human Rights Treaties
Provides links to reports, concluding observations, ratifications, reservations and declarations, jurisprudence and other types of documents on the major U.N. human rights treaties. It is searchable by type of document, country or subject matter.
International Humanitarian Law - Treaties & Documents
International Committee of the Red Cross. Collection of international humanitarian law treaties and conventions
International Human Rights Instruments
Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights.
International Migration Law Database (IOM)
International Organisation for Migration. International, regional, and national instruments, searchable by keyword
Refugee and Asylum Law Treaties
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library.
Refworld Legal Collection
UNHCR. Sort by type to find treaties and other international legal instruments.
United Nations Treaty Collection
Includes all multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations and, those formerly deposited with the League of Nations, their latest status and a link to the full texts.
Forced Migration - New Law