A simple, clear and concise handbook with everything you need to know for the upcoming Voice to Parliament referendum. Indigenous leader Thomas Mayo and journalist Kerry O'Brien answer the most commonly asked questions about why the Voice should be enshrined in the constitution.

This book makes the legal and political case for Indigenous constitutional recognition through a constitutionally guaranteed First Nations voice, as advocated by the historic Uluru Statement from the Heart. It argues that a constitutional amendment to empower Indigenous peoples with a fairer say in laws and policies made about them and their rights, is both constitutionally congruent and politically achievable.

On 26 May 2017, after a historic process of consultation, the Uluru Statement from the Heart was read out. This clear and urgent call for reform to the community from Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples asked for a First Nations Voice to Parliament protected in the Constitution and a process of agreement-making and truth-telling. Essential reading on how our Constitution was drafted, what the 1967 referendum achieved, and the lead-up and response to the Uluru Statement.

This book provides the first comprehensive study of Indigenous constitutional recognition in Australia. It puts the idea of constitutional recognition into broader historical and theoretical perspective. After telling a wide-ranging history of Australian debates on Indigenous recognition, the book develops a theoretical account that sees constitutional recognition in terms of Indigenous peoples' struggles to have their identities respected within the settler constitutional order.

Can the Australian state be restructured to empower Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and ensure that their distinct voices are heard in the processes of government? This book provides an answer by drawing on Indigenous scholarship globally with coherent and compelling account of Indigenous peoples' political aspirations through the concept of sovereignty. Reflecting the call for a First Nations Voice, the book applies the criteria to one specific institutional mechanism - Indigenous representative bodies.

It's Our Country- Indigenous Arguments for Meaningful Constitutional Recognition and Reform is a collection of essays by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander thinkers and leaders including Patrick Dodson, Noel Pearson, Dawn Casey, Nyunggai Warren Mundine and Mick Mansell. Each essay explores what recognition and constitutional reform might achieve--or not achieve--for Indigenous people.

This book explains how recognition theory contributes to non-colonial and enduring political relationships between Indigenous nations and the state. It refers to Indigenous Australian arguments for a Voice to Parliament and treaties to show what recognition may mean for practical politics and policy-making.

In 1967, Australians voted overwhelmingly in favour of altering two aspects of the Constitution that related to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. Although these seemed like small amendments, they provided an impetus for real change - from terra nullius to land rights, and from assimilation to self-determination. Nearly 50 years later, there is a groundswell of support for our indigenous heritage to be formally recognised in the Constitution.

In 2007, 144 UN member states voted to adopt a Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the US were the only members to vote against it. Each eventually changed its position. This book explains why and examines what the Declaration could mean for sovereignty, citizenship and democracy in liberal societies such as these.

The 1967 Referendum explores the legal and political significance of the referendum and the long struggle by black and white Australians for constitutional change. It traces the emergence of a series of powerful narratives about the Australian Constitution and the status of Aborigines, revealing how and why the referendum campaign acquired so much significance and has since become the subject of highly charged myth in contemporary Australia.

Looks at modern treaty-making between Indigenous peoples and governments in Australia. The authors explore the why, where, and how of treaty, and conclude by offering seven strategies for achieving treaty and challenge the reader to question whether Australia should go down the treaty path; a path that could lead to political settlements that empower Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and address the injustices at the heart of the Australian state.

A full history of constitutional change in Australia, this analysis examines the nation's referendum record and explains why referendum approvals have been so rare. Including interviews with leading proponents for constitutional change as well as political cartoons and brochures from key campaigns, this account provides a thorough analysis of each referendum campaign, the public's response, and the forces that shaped the outcome.

This continent was colonised without consent. No treaty was signed at first contact or in the years thereafter. Australia is a nation state on shaky ground, one of few without a treaty with Indigenous people.

A collection of passionate essays from religious leaders arguing for a First Nations Voice to be enshrined in the Australian Constitution In this ground-breaking collection of essays, diverse religious leaders and thinkers come together to advocate for the Uluru Statement from the Heart. Contributors from Buddhist, Christian, Hindu, Jewish, Muslim and Sikh communities powerfully convey why a First Nations voice to parliament is necessary not only legally and politically, but also morally.

This collection of essays explores the history and current status of proposals to recognise Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples in the Constitution of Australia. The book had its genesis in a colloquium co-hosted by the University of Southern Queensland and Southern Cross University, attended by scholars from Australia and overseas and prominent participants in the recognition debates.