LibGuides: International Refugee Law: Research Centres / International Organisations / NGOs

UNHCR Websites and Resources

The UNHCR's primary purpose is to safeguard the rights and well-being of refugees. It was established on 14/12/1950 by the UN General Assembly.

UN High Commissioner for Refugees
Agenda for Protection
Third Edition, October 2003. UN doc. A/AC.96/965/Add.1, 26 June 2002. Covers areas such as preventing sexual violence and improving women and child protection. Also clarifies responsibilities for refugee protection during sea rescues, measures for strengthening individual asylum systems and maintaining the civilian character of refugee camps.
Handbook on Procedures and Criteria for Determining Refugee Status under the 1951 Convention and the 1967 Protocol relating to the Status of Refugees
Refugee resettlement handbook
Describes the role of resettlement in the resolution of refugee situations and resettlement criteria. Includes country chapters where the resettlement programs of different countries are described.
ReliefWeb
United Nations website providing information to humanitarian relief organizations. Updated daily. There is also a directory of non-governmental organizations.
Refworld
Information from UNHCR's global network of field offices, Governments, international, regional and non-governmental organizations, academic institutions and judicial bodies.
UNHCR Global Report
Offers a comprehensive view of the agency's challenges and achievements worldwide.
UNHCR's Protection Starter Kit
A compilation of key UNHCR protection policies, guidelines,
evaluations, training materials and other references
UNHCR Regional Office for Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and the South Pacific
Includes publications and media on refugee and asylum issues in the region.
UNHCR Statistical Online Population Database
Figures at a glance
UNHCR

International Organisations

Council of Europe
Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR)
Includes published cases as well as special reports on human rights-related topics.
Inter-American Commission of Women
Includes annual reports and reports on the implementation of women's human rights treaties in the region.
United Nations Relief and Works Agency
UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs
US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants
Includes statistics, Internet resources, and news from the field.

Nongovernmental Organisations (NGOs)

Amnesty International

These are some of the NGOs involved in refugee issues. Researchers often find documents of interest on the websites of these individual organizations. For other organisations see Directory of Developmental Organizations listed by country, and IGO's and NGO's Research Guide by Georgetown Law Library.