LibGuides: International Refugee Law: Cases / Courts

International Courts and Tribunals

African Court of Human and Peoples' Rights
European Court of Human Rights
European Court of Justice
International Court of Justice
Official site containing decisions of the ICJ, a list of pending cases, the basic documents governing its operation and other information about the Court
Inter-American Court of Human Rights
Inter-American Commission on Human Rights

Case Law

Refworld Case Law
Searchable database by keyword and country
UNHCR Compilation of Case Law on Refugee Protection in International Law (2008)
Summarizes almost 70 key judgments/decisions. Organized by main refugee law-related issues
Gender and Refugee Caselaw
Center for Gender and Refugee Studies. Selection of decisions in gender asylum cases
International Association for Refugee Law Judges
Contains court decisions in asylum law of many different countries
International Law Reports
Full text decisions of international courts and international law decisions in domestic courts from 1919. Contains decisions of the International Court of Justice, European Court of Justice, UN human rights treaty bodies, Administrative Tribunal of the International Labour Organisation and national courts.
INTERIGHTS - Commonwealth and International Human Rights Cases
Summaries of significant human rights decisions from national courts in Commonwealth countries and international courts
Netherlands Institute of Human Rights
Provides case law from U.N. bodies, ECHR, and ICTY and ICTR tribunals
Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions, and Orders
Official reporter of the International Court of Justice
The Hague Justice Portal
The Hague Justice Portal is no longer be updated as of 21 December 2011. The Portal archives will remain available until 1 January 2013, and the Hague Academic Coalition will continue to seek for funding opportunities to continue the Portal. Can browse cases by court, region, or topic.
WestlawNext (ICTR)
Cases from International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda starting from 1995.
World Court Digest
Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public and International Law. Summaries of the conclusions of the International Court of Justice, arranged by topic
World Legal Information Institute - Human Rights Case Law
Links to various human rights courts worldwide

United Nations Treaty-Monitoring Bodies

Five of the major United Nations Treaty Bodies have established procedures under which individuals may submit complaints.

Committee against Torture
Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women
Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination
Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities
Human Rights Committee

The Oxford Reports of International Human Rights Law database contains cases from not only the United Nations Human Rights system, but also from the Inter-American system, African System, and selective coverage of the European Court of Human Rights.

Use any of the following tools to locate the jurisprudence of these treaty bodies.

UN Treaty Body Documents
Bayefsky.com
Universal Human Rights Index
Annual Reports of Treaty Bodies : CAT, CEDAW, CERD, CRPD, HRC
U. of Minnesota : CAT, CEDAW, CERD, HRC