This workbook combines methodology and practice for beginning translators with a solid proficiency in French. It assumes a linguistic approach to the problems of translation and addresses common pitfalls, including the delineation of "translation units", word polysemy, false cognates, and structural and cultural obstacles to literal translation.

In this authoritative and accessible account of French literature, sixteen essays by leading specialists offer provocative insights into French literary culture and its genres. The broad scope of this Companion, which goes beyond individual authors or periods, enables a deeper appreciation for the distinctive literature of France.

The DEAF bibliography is the key to French medieval literature, fulfilling a number of functions. The first is to provide bibliographical data for all the sources cited in the DEAF. The second is to give a substantive and qualitative characterisation of these sources, particularly of the primary sources.

The Dictionary of Louisiana French (DLF) provides the richest inventory of French vocabulary in Louisiana and reflects precisely the speech of the period from 1930 to the present.

This book will be of immediate use to anyone using the French language and needing to understand French society and culture. The individual entries have been carefully designed to carry the basic linguistic information required and then develop into a wider consideration of the social and cultural context within which the specific words and phrases are used in current French.

An invaluable tool for all learners of French, providing a list of the 5000 most frequently used words in the language. Based on a 23-million-word corpus of French which includes written and spoken material both from France and overseas, this dictionary provides the user with detailed information for each of the 5000 entries, including English equivalents, a sample sentence, its English translation, usage statistics, and an indication of register variation.

The accompanying volume to the Guide to French Literature: 1789 to the Present, this text traces the flow of ideas from writer to writer and the connection between literature and the other arts, and the interaction between writers and the political, social and economic circumstances of their age.

James Grieve is an author, translator and long-time lecturer and academic at the Australian National University. James has taught French language and literature since 1962.

The primary responsibility of the Academie Francaise to compose a dictionary of the French language intersected with major undercurrents of the French Revolution, and its significance continued through the Napoleonic period and into the Restoration. Yet, despite being such a prominent institution under the Old Regime, scholarship on the Academie during these periods remains largely neglected.

The Routledge Dictionary of Cultural References in Modern French reveals the hidden cultural dimension of contemporary French, as used in the press, going beyond the limited and purely lexical approach of traditional bilingual dictionaries. This cultural dictionary of French provides the reader with clear and concise explanations of the crucial cultural dimension behind the most frequently used words and phrases found in the contemporary French press.

Speed up your French is a unique and innovative resource that identifies and explains the errors most commonly made by students of French. From false friends to idiomatic expressions and the use of prepositions, each of the nine chapters focuses on an aspect of the language where English speakers typically make mistakes. Full explanations are provided throughout with clear, comprehensive examples, enabling students to acquire a surer grasp of French vocabulary and idiom, as well as grammar.