LibGuides: Archaeology: Databases

What are databases?

A library database is an online collection of scholarly resources.

Databases don't hold the resources, but provide the information needed to find it including the author, title, source, publication date, and often an abstract. Many databases have links to the full-text.

Databases can be interdisciplinary (covering several topics), or subject specific (focusing on one particular discipline).

The ANU Library subscribes to over 720 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items including scholarly journal articles; newspaper articles; images; streaming videos; music; and other academic publications.

Searching databases can be a great way to find reliable, peer-reviewed scholarly sources for your research and assessments.

You can see the full range of databases on the Library's e-resources and databases page.

Databases for Archaeology

Archaeology Data Service
The Archaeology Data Service is an accredited digital repository for heritage data that supports research, learning and teaching with freely available digital resources by preserving and disseminating digital data in the long term.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Offers full text, abstracts, and bibliographic indexing of the most notable scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, religion, and theology. Content includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, as well as original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
Informit Indigenous Collection (IIC)
This comprehensive collection covers both contemporary and historical issues within the field of Indigenous studies. Its multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law, land rights, literature, politics, policy making, (post)-colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual & performing arts.
JSTOR
A broad and comprehensive electronic archive of scholarly journal literature in full text, JSTOR has a moving wall which excludes the most current content for a period of between three to five years. It contains academic journals, images, and primary source materials in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Perseus Digital Library
Perseus maintains a web site that showcases collections and services developed as a part of our research efforts over the years. Perseus covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. Perseus applies what have been learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond.
ProQuest
A multidisciplinary database which provides access to 37 ProQuest databases, with a variety of content across more than 160 subjects including business, science and technology, health and medical, social science, arts and humanities, and international news. Contents include abstract, index, and full text articles.
Scopus
Scopus is a curated abstract and citation database of scholarly literature across 240 disciplines, covering documents dating back to 1788, cited references from 1970 onward, author profiles, books, publishers and institutional profiles.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online (SEG) is an annual publication collecting newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents. It covers the entire Greek world from the early Greek period until the 8th century A.D. Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum presents complete Greek texts, and a critical apparatus, of new inscriptions; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents
Web of Science
This database has bibliographic records with abstracts for about 70% of the science citations and 60% of the social sciences citations. Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-; Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975. It allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author.