LibGuides: Family law: Databases

Databases

Selected databases for locating family law research are listed below. To find relevant journal articles you may need to search one or more databases. Some of these databases provide full-text access to journal articles while others provide an index of the available literature.

To select the appropriate database or index you should consider the jurisdiction and the topic, for example, if you are only looking for Australian articles you will return more specific results when you search an Australian database.

Please remember that journal articles are NOT found in the ANU Library catalogue.

For a more complete list of legal databases covering secondary sources click here.

AGIS (Attorney-General's Information Service)
AGIS indexes law journals from the Australian, New Zealand and Asia Pacific region from 1975 onwards. Law journals from other countries including the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom are selectively indexed for Australian content and interest.
Families & Society Collection
Content includes peer-reviewed journals from government and specialist associations tackling modern debates on topics including non-traditional families, parenting, marriage and divorce.
FAMILY - Australian Family & Society Abstracts Database
A bibliographic database of research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families. It is produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies.
Child Family Community Australia (CFCA)
CFCA is the Australian Institute of Family Studies’ information hub for evidence, resources and support for professionals working in the child, family and community welfare sector.

Finding the full text of a journal article

When you have a reference to a journal article check the ANU Library Catalogue to find the journal online or in print:

Make a note of the full citation
Look up the title in an abbreviations list
Search the ANU Library Catalogue for the journal title
Click on the link to the journal if available or note the location information for journals that are held in print.
Once you have clicked on an online link you will need to browse or search for your article. (You will not be linked directly to it).

Where to find abbreviations: