This Index provides a searchable index to the Balinese Manuscript Collection housed in the Menzies Library of the Australian National University Library.
Between March 1973 and June 1992, the Department of Indonesian at the University of Sydney participated in the Balinese Manuscript Project, and copies of the transcriptions were dispatched to Sydney on a monthly basis in bundles of between about 10 and 50 transcriptions. The Sydney Collection, now the ANU collection, comprises 5,219 transcriptions which have been registered in this Index. Copies of the HKS Project collection, some incomplete, can be found in the libraries of the University of Leiden, Cornell University, British Library, and the National Library (Perpustakaan Nasional), Jakarta.
Balinese Manuscript Traditions
The Balinese manuscript corpus covers a number of broad thematic categories which include works belonging to a variety of different genres:
Religion: including cosmogony, beliefs and doctrines, religious speculation
Ethics, moralistic and juridical treatises: including didactic treatises and handbooks on behaviour, statecraft, law, eroticism
Worshili and ritual practice: including texts on religious practice including handbooks on offerings, incantations, formulas, prayers and ritual, architecture
Divination and magic: including handbooks and instructions for divination, auspicious and inauspicious days, black and white magic, exorcism
Medicine
History, mythology, genealogy
Governance, edicts, charters, village regulations
Literature and language: including prose and poetical works, works on language, metrics, dictionaries and wordlists, catalogues
Performing arts: including scripts for
Exegesis: including explanatory works with interlinear translations.
Arsip Nasional Republik Indonesia
The National Archives of Indonesia is the non-departmental government institution of Indonesia responsible for maintaining a central archive. It holds the largest archive collection related to the Dutch East India Company.
