LibGuides: French Studies: Databases

Key databases

Below is a list of selected databases relevant to French Studies:

ProQuest
A multidisciplinary database which provides access to 37 ProQuest databases, with a variety of content across more than 160 subjects including business, science and technology, health and medical, social science, arts and humanities, and international news. Contents include abstract, index, and full text articles.
Gale Research Complete
Gale Research Complete (GRC) provides access to a large number of databases and covers covers a broad range of disciplines. GRC includes access to a wide range of primary sources, e-reference and periodical content, and combines proprietary e-reference content from Gale, Journal Citation Report (JCR)—quality periodicals, literary criticism, and full-text literary works as well as rare primary source content from the vaults of the world’s great libraries. Includes Archives Unbound, which presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars, researchers, and students at the college and university level.
JSTOR
A broad and comprehensive electronic archive of scholarly journal literature in full text, JSTOR has a moving wall which excludes the most current content for a period of between three to five years. It contains academic journals, images, and primary source materials in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Cambridge Core
Cambridge University Press is one of the largest and most prestigious academic publishers in the world and are widely respected as a world leader in publishing for subjects as diverse as astronomy, Shakespeare studies, economics, mathematics and politics. Access via Cambridge Core.
Oxford Academic
Oxford Academic is Oxford University Press's academic research platform, providing access to over 50,000 books and 500 journals.
MLA International Bibliography
A subject index of scholarly books, journal articles and websites on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics compiled by the Modern Language Association of America. More than sixty languages are represented in the index with coverage starting from 1926 onwards.
Mercure de France
Published from 1672, this influential periodical promised in its first issue to chronicle the activities of luminaries in metropolitan Paris, in the French provinces, and abroad, and to offer good literature to lovers of novels and stories. It was published first under the title Mercure Galant by Donneau de Vise. In 1724 the title was changed to Mercure de France, and the periodical was split into a literary and a political section. This collection provides an unprecedented primary source in which the cultural representations of layers of the French elite and academics can be explored over more than one hundred and thirty-five years in which the modern European world was truly born.
Année philologique
L’Année philologique covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics—which includes early Christian texts and patristics—Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy.
Oxford Art Online (formerly the Grove Dictionary of Art Online)
Oxford Art Online is the access point for the Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists. In addition, users can access the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.

RKD-artists
This database of artists from the RKD (Documentation Centre of the Netherlands Institute of Art History) is the largest freely accessible online database (around 250,000 artists from all countries from 1200 to the present day). It also contains information on personalities from the art world, dealers, collectors and art historians. Entries include biographical and bibliographical information.
Plate-forme ouverte du patrimoine - POP
Launched in 2019, POP includes nearly 4 million records documenting French cultural assets: paintings, sculptures, architecture, objets d'art, photographs, illuminations, etc.

Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Offers full text, abstracts, and bibliographic indexing of the most notable scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, religion, and theology. Content includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, as well as original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Coverage is from 1991 onwards and includes political science, diplomatic history, international law and business, policy formation, development studies, environmental studies and country analysis. Source documents included are: books, journals, videos, conference proceedings, working papers, country data and maps.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
An international abstract and index database which covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics from 1973 onwards. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
ProQuest One Literature
ProQuest One Literature brings together the most comprehensive collection of primary texts, ebooks, reference sources, full-text journals, dissertations, video and more, for unparalleled access to historical and contemporary content by and about celebrated and lesser-known authors from around the world.
OECD iLibrary
This resource contains all the publications and datasets released by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). It also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
PressReader
Access to 2,300 full-content, digital newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages. Newspapers display in their original layout.