Amirah Inglis Collection
Historian Amirah Inglis gathered original records, photographs, printed material and oral histories for her book, Australians and the Spanish Civil War (1987). There are photographs of Australian volunteers, and contemporary press clippings, postcards, posters and stamps. Her papers include her research notes on International and General Brigades, nurses, refugees, Australian Catholics, the Spanish Relief Committee, and trade unions; poetry relating to
the war; medals and badges of Mary Lowson; tapes of interviews with Lloyd Edmonds, Harry Buttonshaw, Joe Carter and others; and Ralph Gibson’s notes for his book on Spain (N171, 9 boxes, 2 albums).
Margaret Howells Collection
Margaret Howells was a volunteer in the Spanish Civil War. Her papers contain correspondence, photographs, newspaper cuttings, and printed material including postcards and pamphlets relating to Australian participation in the Spanish Civil War (Z299, 2 boxes).
J. Normington Rawling Collection
Political activist James Normington Rawling collected pamphlets on many left-wing issues (N57). His extensive collection includes files entitled: Movement against War and Fascism: Spain: handbills, press cuttings etc,
1936-1939 (N57/479), Spanish Relief Committee, 1936-1939 (N57/450), press clippings: Spain (New
Statesman, Communist Review), 1937 (N57/822), pamphlets relating to the Spanish Civil War,
1934-1938, (N57/1362-1375), serials Alianza and Juventud, 1938 (N57/2063-64) and posters
(N57/2270-71).
Phil Thorne Collection
Thorne was editor of Labour Defender, the journal of the International Labour Defence, and in 1936 was elected Secretary of the Spanish Relief Committee. His papers (P15) include archives of the Spanish Relief Committee (SRC) which was formed in Sydney in August 1936 to provide ‘moral and material aid to the anti-Fascist people of Spain’. Includes minutes of the SRC and Executive Committee, 1936-1940 (P15/3); correspondence of Phil Thorne, Secretary, including letters from nurses in Spain and circular letters, 1936-1939 (P15/4-6); extracts from the diary of Una Wilson and personal reminiscences, c1938 (P15/12); printed material (P15/1 and Boxes 1-2), periodicals (P15/2) including Republican Spain: Weekly Notes and News, 1938 and photographs (P15, Box 1). There are many pamphlets which are also found in other collections. Those listed separately under Pamphlets in this guide exclude the pamphlets in the Phil Thorne collection.
Tom and Mary Wright Collection
Trade unionists and activists Tom and Mary Wright have an extensive archive containing correspondence of WA Morcom to Mary Lamm (Wright) including press cuttings, 10 July 1938 (Z267/Box 17) and Spanish Civil War pamphlets, 1936-1952 and a paper by Phil Thorne on the Spanish Relief Committee, 1985 (Z267/Box 26).