News comes in many forms. In addition to the extensive range of Australian and international newspaper titles available at the ANU Library, you can also view newsreels, previously broadcast news programmes, newswires, and niche newspapers.
AP Archive is the film and video archive of The Associated Press (AP) -- the world's largest and oldest news agency. AP cameramen have been capturing the iconic moments that have shaped the world in which we live and we have over 1.7 million news, sports, entertainment and fashion stories dating back to 1895. New footage added daily.
British Pathé is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world and is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance. Spanning the years from 1896 to 1978, the collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture.
This resource provides full text access to hundreds of rare journals and newspapers combining major publications with more ephemeral works to underline the broad variety of eighteenth century print journalism. The emphasis is on items from Britain, but material from Canada, the Caribbean, and India is also included.
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) is a United States government agency that translates the text of daily radio and television broadcasts; newspapers and periodicals; government statements; books, and other sources of unrestricted information such as databases and gray literature from non-English sources around the world. FBIS covers such topics as military affairs; politics; the environment; societal issues; economics, and science and technology. Reports are available from 1941 to 1996. Daily reports with translations are issued for Africa; Asia; Australia/Oceania; Caribbean; Europe; Middle East/Near East; North and South America.
Established in May 1991, the Koori Mail is a fortnightly national newspaper reporting on the issues that matter to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, providing Indigenous Australians a voice missing in the mainstream media. You can view older issues online through this link, or find recent print copies in the ANU Library.
Mideastwire.com is a news service gathering and translating important stories from and about the Middle East, providing daily briefing on key political, cultural, economic and opinion news from all 22 Arab countries and the Arab media diaspora.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. The content is sourced from the world's preeminent libraries and archives. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
This website features the front pages of more than 500 newspapers from around the world. Note: it is based in the American time zone, so some Australian and other newspapers will be yesterday's front pages.