A library database is a large, searchable, online collection of published scholarly materials. The ANU Library subscribes to over 620 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items, including scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, images, streaming videos, music, and other academic publications.
You can start you exploration here E-resources and databases.
Please note, the databases listed are available to ANU students and staff on and off campus. Login and password are required for remote access - remember to select the option 'ANU Library Home Page.'
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) indexes and provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, dissertations, and exhibition reviews published since the late 1960s.
ABM covers contemporary art and modern art from the late 19th century onwards. Subjects include: art history & theory, performance, installation, film & video, digital art, animation, body art, graffiti, textile design, jewellery, artist's books, theatre design, ceramics, glass, graphic design, fashion, photography, painting, printmaking, and sculpture.
Art & Architecture Archive is a major research resource comprising the digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Offering unprecedented access to the archives of key consumer and trade publications, it is a unique collection of the essential primary sources for studying the history of these subjects. The magazines cover the spectrum of sub-disciplines, from fine and applied arts, through to interior design, industrial design, and landscape gardening. Issues are scanned from cover to cover in high resolution color and presented in page image format with fully searchable text.*
The high-quality reproduction and easy discoverability of the original content will allow scholars, students, and practitioners of fine art to draw inspiration from the many artworks displayed in visual arts titles such as Apollo and Art Monthly. They may also study features and reviews revealing the contemporary reception of specific works.
Trade magazines, widely recognized as indispensable sources for art and architecture, are also strongly represented. Research materials and technical guidance are available to those working in areas including graphic design, construction, and product design, in publications such as Print, Architectural Review, and Graphis, respectively.
In combination, the consumer magazines and the trade publications comprise an invaluable reference source, as a historical record of the art and architecture industries. Through reviews, advertisements, exhibition listings, and awards, users may trace the careers of major artists and architects, as well as the history of the commercialization and marketing of art.
Art & Architecture Archive also serves wider research in the humanities and social sciences, with sociologists and historians, for example, able to locate primary sources attesting to the relationship between art movements and social trends.
The ability to cross-search these magazine backfiles within a single database creates an unrivalled opportunity for researchers to locate a comprehensive body of primary source material relating to particular individuals, topics and movements, across a variety of publications and document types. A single search may return industry news items, interviews with major artists, and features about technological developments, as well as photographs / illustrations, architectural plans, statistics, and reviews.
*The publisher's policy is to include each issue from volume 1, issue 1, through to a default termination point of 2005 or 2015 (the latter for publications added more recently to the database) and to scan from cover to cover. Due to the rarity of some of the original print volumes, however, there are small gaps (issues or pages) in the runs of some publications.
This comprehensive resource covers fine, decorative and commercial art-forms. It includes many artists and all genres of art through access to full text articles from 1995 and indexes/abstracts from 1984 along with 200,000 art reproductions. It is also useful for research into fields as diverse as women’s, media or cultural studies as well as history, anthropology and industrial design.
Art Index Retrospective is an index to nearly 600 art periodicals published between 1929 and 1984.
Coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in periodicals, and citations to over 25,000 book reviews.
Oxford Art Online offers access to Oxford’s leading art reference sources, including the Grove Dictionary of Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (2nd edition). Resources feature entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.
Note: Text & data mining from Factiva is prohibited unless you have a specific agreement with the publisher.
Factiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones. Users have access to news and business information in 28 languages from 200 countries. Source documents include newspapers, magazines, newswires, media programs, websites, company reports and images from Reuters and Knight Ridder. Exchange rates, market indices, stock, fund, and corporate bond prices are also included.
Provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of scholarly sources in the humanities and specialized magazines. Source documents include: feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, poetry, book reviews, reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and radio and television programs.
RMIT Publishing provides a source of online full text, multi-media and index databases on Australasian scholarly research. It has a very strong Australian focus and includes thousands of articles from scholarly Australasian journals, monographs, conference proceedings and other research material.
A comprehensive electronic archive of scholarly journal literature in full text. JSTOR has a moving wall that excludes the last 3 to 5 years of journal issues. The database contains academic journals, images, letters and other primary sources in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Project Muse dates from 1995 to present and is an electronic journal collection of full text/full image scholarly journals in the humanities, the arts and the social sciences from Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses.
A multidisciplinary database which provides access to 22 ProQuest databases, with a variety of content across more than 160 subjects including business, science and technology, health and medical, social science, arts and humanities, and international news. Contents include abstract, index, and full text articles.
Page Contact: ANU Library Communication
+61 2 6125 5111
The Australian National University, Canberra
CRICOS Provider : 00120C
