LibGuides: Development Issues in Asia and the Pacific: Databases

What are databases?

A library database is an online collection of scholarly resources.

Databases don't hold the resources, but provide the information needed to find it including the author, title, source, publication date, and often an abstract. Many databases have links to the full-text.

Databases can be interdisciplinary (covering several topics), or subject specific (focusing on one particular discipline).

The ANU Library subscribes to over 720 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items including scholarly journal articles; newspaper articles; images; streaming videos; music; and other academic publications.

Searching databases can be a great way to find reliable, peer-reviewed scholarly sources for your research and assessments.

You can see the full range of databases on the Library's e-resources and databases page.

Databases for Asia Pacific studies

China Premium, Indonesia Premium & Global Database (CEIC)
Select 'Click here for Guest Access' or 'Register now' to use this resource.
This global database contains over a million time series, covering economies from the United States, China, Vietnam, Bulgaria, Chile and more. It covers key indicators such as GDP, GNP, FDI, and CPI as well as detailed, hard to find information on inflation, exports, and tourism.
The China Premium Database, available in both English and Chinese, offers over 293,000 time-series records on macroeconomic, sector, industry and regional data dating back to 1949.
The Indonesia Premium Database offers over 200,000 time-series records on macroeconomic and sector data. For each data segment, full coverage of Indonesia’s 33 provinces is included.
Informit Indigenous Collection (IIC)
This comprehensive collection covers both contemporary and historical issues within the field of Indigenous studies. Its multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law, land rights, literature, politics, policy making, (post)-colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual & performing arts. The collection gives access to emergent and ground breaking research within the global community offering scope for critical international engagement and debate.
OECD iLibrary
This resource contains all the publications and datasets released by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). It also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
RANE Worldview (formerly known as Stratfor)
Provides strategic analysis and forecasting of geopolitical intelligence. Global events are placed in a geopolitical framework to allow users to better understand international developments and better assess geopolitical risk, make strategic investments and expand into challenging regions.

Multidisciplinary

JSTOR
A broad and comprehensive electronic archive of scholarly journal literature in full text, JSTOR has a moving wall which excludes the most current content for a period of between three to five years. It contains academic journals, images, and primary source materials in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
ProQuest One Academic
Brings together four core multi-disciplinary products: ProQuest Central; Academic Complete; Academic Video Online; and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, providing access to the world’s largest curated collection of journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, and video.
Scopus
Scopus is a curated abstract and citation database of scholarly literature across 240 disciplines, covering documents dating back to 1788, cited references from 1970 onward, author profiles, books, publishers and institutional profiles.
Web of Science
This database has bibliographic records with abstracts for about 70% of the science citations and 60% of the social sciences citations. Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-; Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975. It allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author.