A library database is an online collection of scholarly resources.
Databases don't hold the resources, but provide the information needed to find it including the author, title, source, publication date, and often an abstract. Many databases have links to the full-text.
Databases can be interdisciplinary (covering several topics), or subject specific (focusing on one particular discipline).
The ANU Library subscribes to over 620 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items including scholarly journal articles; newspaper articles; images; streaming videos; music; and other academic publications.
Searching databases can be a great way to find reliable, peer-reviewed scholarly sources for your research and assessments.
This index and full text database provides access to scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities and is based on the journal indexing of the Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS). Coverage from 1995 onwards.
Covers all subjects, especially humanities and the social sciences, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. The most important 100+ periodicals in Asian Studies identified by BAS staff are indexed immediately, but the total number of indexed journals is many times that amount.
Cambridge University Press is one of the largest and most prestigious academic publishers in the world. Subject coverage includes literature and classics, philosophy, religion, culture, and music. Also Included is the Cambridge historical reference compendium, Cambridge Histories Online, with instant access to the texts of the Cambridge Histories series.
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Coverage is from 1991 onwards and includes political science, diplomatic history, international law and business, policy formation, development studies, environmental studies and country analysis. Source documents included are: books, journals, videos, conference proceedings, working papers, country data and maps.
This resource indexes a wide range of international economics literature, including journals, articles, essays, proceedings, books, book reviews, dissertations and working papers. Many articles have full text links. The database contains over 850,000 records from 1969, and over 80% of current records include abstracts
A comprehensive audio-visual encyclopaedia of human behaviour and culture which includes material from every continent. Thematic areas include language and culture, body language, cooking, family structures, music and the arts, gender, and more. It contains classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage, and selected feature films.
A broad and comprehensive electronic archive of scholarly journal literature in full text, JSTOR has a moving wall which excludes the most current content for a period of between three to five years. It contains academic journals, images, and primary source materials in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.