A library database is a large, searchable, online collection of published scholarly materials.
The ANU Library subscribes to approximately 540 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items, including scholarly journal articles, newspaper articles, images, streaming videos, music, and other academic publications.
Below is a list of databases relevant to 'Gender Studies'. You can see more databases on the Library's e-resources and databases page.
Please note, the databases listed are available to ANU students and staff on and off campus. Login and password are required for remote access.
A breadth of printed and manuscript sources over four centuries, providing a multitude of perspectives on the changing roles of women in history. This collection offers access to the works and legacy of many notable and influential women, but also a chance to hear the voices of forgotten and ordinary women. It includes papers and rare printed works of important female writers and thinkers; life writing and autobiographies of a range of 18th and 19th century women; the papers of Sylvia Pankhurst, suffragette, political activist and campaigner; diaries and correspondence of aristocratic women, giving insights into the social, political and cultural history of rich and powerful women of the 18th and 19th centuries; women's travel writing - manuscript and printed accounts of women travellers, missionaries, tourists and women living across the British Empire.
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides. This constantly growing collection meets the full range of teaching needs for theatre studies, literature courses and drama schools. From the epic to the monologue; ensemble to one-person plays; comedy to tragedy; the historical to the contemporary; and from the highly political to the profoundly personal, there is plenty to discover. The unique Play Tools with Character Grids, Words and Speech graphs and Part Books offer a new way to engage with plays for close study or for performance.
Oxford Art Online includes full text articles in visual arts and art history, image links, thumbnail art images and line drawings. Coverage includes time periods, movement, medium, geography, styles, cultures and people.
A comprehensive electronic archive of scholarly journal literature in full text. JSTOR has a moving wall that excludes most current 3-5 years. The database contains academic journals, images, letters and other primary sources in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.
The immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in over 100,000 pages of diaries and letters. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. Each source has been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
The Alexander Street Anthropology collections offer comprehensive, multimedia resources for the study of anthropology, including the largest collection of ethnographic videos and previously unpublished archival field materials.
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included, with rich indexing enabling researchers to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the dawn of the modern era to the present day.
This collection consists of two distinct elements: 1) a finding aid to women's studies resources in The National Archives, and 2) original documents on the suffrage question in Britain, the Empire and colonial territories.