This major contribution to women's history and gender studies describes the individuals involved in the political activism of the women's movement in the UK, Europe, the Commonwealth, and the US. Cheryl Law highlights the importance of the ""lost"" period between 1914 and 1960. Divided into three sections--the First World War and the 1920s; the 1930s to the 1960s; and the 1960s to the present day--the book includes biographical portraits of the major female activists and details of the institutions and operational networks set up to extend the social, political, and economic rights of women.
This dictionary covers a broad range of subjects that detail the shifting definitions of this socio-economic, political, and intellectual movement and describe its antecedents and pioneers. It includes an introduction, chronology and detailed bibliography.
From abolitionism to Zionism, this encyclopedia clarifies the intellectual history of more than 750 complex ideas of concern to people today. Like its classic predecessor, the Dictionary of the History of Ideas (1973), this new set covers core Western ideas, while expanding its coverage to include the 'global perspectives and gender-inclusive' concepts that have evolved in the past 30 years. Reader's guides, cross-references, sidebars, and an index aid the reader in understanding the way ideas combine with other ideas.
This widely acclaimed book has been described as a 'landmark in the study of the women's movement' (History Today). It is the only comprehensive reference work to bring together in one volume the wealth of information available on the women's movement. Drawing on national and local archival sources, the book contains over 400 biographical entries and more than 800 entries on societies in England, Scotland and Wales. Easily accessible and rigorously cross-referenced, this invaluable resource covers not only the political developments of the campaign but provides insight into its cultural context, listing novels, plays and films.
This text offers kaleidoscopic coverage of lesbian and gay life, history, politics, language, sex and humour. The volume's 2500 entries celebrate this culture's breadth, from Chinese folklore, Islamic poetry and Native American customs, to dykes on bikes, Alternative Miss World and the Gay Games.