This is a critical reference guide to the important contributions made by women-writers to the renaissance of British drama since the late 1950s. The coverage ranges from collective work, women's companies and cabaret through to traditional single author plays. The book explores writing by lesbians and black women, and examines in detail women's theatre in the UK.
This authoritative guide presents key information on all Shakespeare's dramatic and poetic works including plots; people; sources; context; performance history; and major themes. The guide is illustrated with striking performance photographs, and also provides brief accounts of Shakespeare's life and language. This is an indispensable reference source for all students and theatregoers.
This compact guide to drama ranges from classical Greece to modern Drama and performance, but with particular emphasis on the playwrights (including Shakespeare) who are most widely taught and performed. This handbook covers the whole range of literary, aesthetic, and political questions attending drama - from theatre designs and acting styles, to audience composition and editing printed texts.
This collection of essays covers American drama from its inception in colonial America, through its many incarnations in the nineteenth century, to its zenith in the twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. This unique handbook highlights the major works of the twentieth century, as well as earlier works and contexts.
This handbook explores the social, political, and economic pressures under which the playing companies of Shakespeare and his contemporaries operated in Tudor-Stuart England and how they evolved over time. Essays also explore the practical everyday business of playing: acquiring scripts and playhouses; dramatic authorship; rehearsing; lighting; music; props; styles of acting; boy actors; and the role of women in an 'all-male' world.
The first comprehensive introduction to and reference work for the unified study of ancient comedy. Up-to-date guides written by an international team of experts cover the immense terrain of comedy from the 1960s to today.
This handbook, written by international scholars, attests to the richness and diversity of Shakespearean performance criticism as it is practiced today, and they point the way to critical continents not yet explored.