This text offers a practical handbook of terms, theories and styles relevant to the study and practice of dramaturgy. It covers textual, performance and production conventions as they have appeared throughout the history of drama and theatre. Entries contain factual information and definitions.
Written by over 100 expert contributors, this is the most comprehensive guide to the history and current practice of worldwide theatre available today. This text covers all major playwrights, works, traditions, theories, companies, venues and events; details the origins of popular theatre tradition; discusses the work of actors, directors and designers; explains theatre architecture and design; and more!
This dictionary provides clear and concise definitions of the most troublesome literary terms. It is an essential reference tool for students of literature in any language. This edition includes increased coverage of new terms from modern critical and theoretical movements - such as feminism, schools of American poetry, Spanish verse forms, life writing, and crime fiction.
This dictionary provides essential information on the 1000 best-known, best-loved, and most important plays in world theatre. Each entry includes details of title; author; date of composition; first performance; genre; setting; cast; plot synopsis; and a brief commentary on the context or reasons for its enduring popularity.
This dictionary traces the evolution of over 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world through 2.4 million quotations. Historical in focus, each entry contain the word's earliest known use, as well as later examples which help plot the word's subsequent development in English.
Compiled by a scholar of language and theatre, this book concisely defines terms from three categories: technical words; standard terms of drama and dramatic criticism; and slang terms. A useful work for dramatic critics, theatre historians, stage workers, and students and teachers interested in the stage.