This handbook provides a comprehensive study of population change across the whole of Asia. Comprising 28 chapters this handbook examines demographic transitions on the continent, their considerable variations, their causes and consequences, and their relationships with a wide range of social, economic, political and cultural processes. Major topics covered include: population studies and sources of demographic data; historical demography; family planning and fertility decline; sex preferences; mortality changes; causes of death; HIV/AIDS; population distribution and migration; urbanization; marriage and family; human capital and labour force; population ageing; demographic dividends; political demography; population and environment; and Asia's demographic future.

This book explores key aspects of the nexus between demography and social science. With an international perspective, and founded on the principles of social demography, this handbook shows how the rural population, which recently dropped below 50 per cent of the world total, remains a vital segment of society living in proximity to much-needed developmental and amenity resources. This handbook demonstrates how future development trajectories will vary according to local characteristics including, but not limited to, population composition.

This is the first comprehensive collection of scholarly essays to address issues affecting women using the framework of economics. Each chapter reviews the key trends, surveys the relevant economic theory, and summarizes and critiques the empirical research literature. By providing a view of what we know, what we do not know, and what the unanswered questions are, this handbook provides an examination of the many changes that have occurred in women's economic lives.

The objective of this text is to deconstruct, question, and redefine what is commonly understood as "migration crises." The volume covers a wide range of historical, economic, social, political, and environmental conditions that generate migration crises around the globe. At the same time, it illuminates how the media and public officials play a major role in framing migratory flows as crises.

This handbook seeks to examine and evaluate the flows of movement within Asia, as well as into and out of the continent. Through analysis of both empirical and theoretical developments in the field, it includes examples and trends such as British colonialism, Chinese diaspora, labour migration, the movement of women, and recent student migration. Organised into thematic parts, the topics cover: the historical context to migration in Asia Modern Asian migration pathways and characteristics; the reconceptualising of migration through Asian experiences; contemporary challenges and controversies in Asian migration practice and policy.

This handbook provides an analysis of the processes and effects of Chinese migration under the headings of: population and distribution; mainland China and Taiwan's policies on the Chinese overseas; migration: past and present; economic and political involvement; localization, transnational networks and identity; education, literature and media.

This handbook summarizes findings from nearly 4000 studies on traits associated with variations in socioeconomic status. Much of the information is presented in roughly 300 tables, each one providing a visual snapshot of what research has indicated regarding how a specific human trait appears to be correlated with socioeconomic status. The social status measures utilized and the countries in which each study was conducted are also identified.

This handbook presents cutting-edge research on Asian transnationalism written by experts in the areas of migration, diaspora, ethnicity, gender, language, education, politics, media, art, popular culture, and literature from diverse theoretical and methodological perspectives.