The Australian National University, through its Open Research repository, collects, maintains, preserves, promotes and disseminates its open access scholarly materials. Open Research holds a variety of scholarly publications including journal articles; books and book chapters; conference papers, posters and presentations; theses; creative works; photographs and much more in a number of collections and formats. The wider community is free to browse this material and all members of the ANU community (past and present) are encouraged to contribute their research.
AMEEL is a Web-based portal and a digital collection of information for the study of the Middle East, including its history, culture, development, and contemporary face. Within this portal, Yale University Library integrates existing scholarly digital content with newly digitized resources to make such materials easier to find and use efficiently and freely.
Currently, AMEEL holds approximately 350,000 pages of full text, indexed and searchable in the language of publication including Arabic and Western scripts. The full text in AMEEL has been extracted using Optical Character Recognition software (OCR) rather than re-keying all works. Our digitization team aimed for accuracy rates of higher than 90% when converting modern Arabic text.
A publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. ACO currently provides digital access to 10,786 volumes across 6,544 subjects drawn from rich Arabic collections of distinguished research libraries.
A digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and copyright content from a variety of sources (e.g. Google, Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives).
Digital editions manuscripts and paintings from the Islamicate world representing the flourishing intellectual and cultural heritage of Muslim lands from 1000 to 1900, covering mathematics, astrology, history, law, literature, as well as the Qur'an and Hadith. The bulk of the collection consists of manuscripts in Arabic and Persian, along with examples of Coptic, Samaritan, Syriac, Turkish, and Berber.
The primary partners are Columbia University, the Free Library of Philadelphia, and the University of Pennsylvania with signifiant contributions from Bryn Mawr College and Haverford College. This collection is funded by the Council on Library and Information Resources.
This project began as a consequence of a series of conversations in 2010 between Charles Jones and Peter Magierski at NYU about the need for a tool to assemble and distribute information on open access material relating to the Middle East.