A network of organisations and individuals based in ASEAN member states working towards strengthening human rights and democracy in Southeast Asia, with a particular focus on Burma. Operating from Bangkok, Thailand, the network is comprised of human rights and social justice NGOs, think tanks, academics, journalists and student activists.
The Australian National University (ANU) is home to one of the largest concentrations of Myanmar/Burma specialists in the world. ANU has played a central role in regional debate about political, social and economic change and reform in Myanmar/Burma.
The ANU Myanmar Research Centre was launched in 2015. Since then, the Centre has served as the university’s academic hub for Myanmar activities. The Centre provides a flexible and inclusive structure to maintain its activities, build relationships with our Myanmar partners, and create new opportunities for ANU staff and students.
Thousands of books, journals and microfilm holdings in Burmese language and Burma/Myanmar-related materials. The main collection also contains a variety of Burma/Myanmar related English-language material. Resources include: Census of India, Census of Burma (1872 to 1931); newspapers: Working People’s Daily, the Guardian, the Journal of the Burma Research Society and the New Light of Myanmar; Government Gazette from 1875-1925 on microfilm and 1957-1967 hard copy; the catalogue of books 1957-1963 published by the Ministry of National Planning, an almost complete set of the law reports from 1948 to 2007.
DREAMSEA is s a program to preserve Southeast Asian manuscripts and their contents and aims to disclose the immense cultural treasures to the world. The main method used by DREAMSEA is to gather as much information as possible from Southeast Asian societies about the existence of manuscripts. After proper assessment and checking, a DREAMSEA team will digitise the manuscripts to save the literary heritage and safeguard cultural diversity without having to pay high financial costs. The digitised manuscripts will then be made fully and openly accessible online.
There are more than 2.000 manuscripts from Indonesia, Thailand, and Laos. You can trace every missions on the interactive map. Zoom in and out to point the locations, and click the marker to see the detailed informations. The identified manuscripts covered up to 27 languages, 18 scripts and various subject matters which contain very rich cultural diversity.
East View and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) launched the charter phase of the GPA CRL Alliance in 2019 to develop a special series of collections for the East View Global Press Archive (GPA). With a focus on providing global access to a wide selection of newspapers from around the world, the GPA CRL Alliance has successfully released multiple collections to date, including millions of pages of Open Access content.
The Online Burma/Myanmar Library (“OBL”, “the Library”). is a free, non-commercial, open, multi-source, searchable, online research library focused on Burma/Myanmar. It grew out of the documentation on Burma/Myanmar provided from 1987 to the UN, ILO and other international bodies by the Burma Peace Foundation. It provides information on and for Burma/Myanmar, and holds approximately 50,000 links to documents (of which a quarter are in Burmese) and websites. OBL is by far the largest single source of organised Burma/Myanmar material on the Internet. The material - substantial archives, articles, periodicals, reports, books and videos (and links which lead to many more thousands of documents) - is organised under 100 categories such as Health, Land, Economy, Environment, Law and Constitution, Foreign Relations and History. It is a hybrid library/portal site since approximately half the material is located on our own server - the library function - and half on remote sites, to which OBL makes links - the portal function. OBL does not cover breaking news directly, though we link to the sites of the more than 100 groups and individuals which do.
Provides educators, students, scholars and general public with a wide variety of materials published or otherwise produced in Southeast Asia. Drawn largely from the collections of universities and individual scholars in this region, the SEADL contains digital facsimiles of books and manuscripts, as well as multimedia materials and searchable indexes of additional Southeast Asian resources. Nations represented in the collection include Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.
A collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library's John M. Echols Collection. The site provides online access to more than 350 books written in English and French.