In the library context, a database generally refers to a set of organised information or data that is searchable and is usually collated based on topics, subjects/disciplines or geographical regions. They are specialised search tools that find discipline-based, multidisciplinary and scholarly information. Full-text journal databases like JSTOR allows you to find scholarly publications which have undergone the process of peer review.
The ANU Library has some helpful research tips to help you quickly find quality resources for your assignments.
This index and full text database provides access to scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities and is based on the journal indexing of APAIS (Australian public affairs information service). Coverage from 1995 onwards.
Covers all subjects, especially humanities and the social sciences, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. The most important 100+ periodicals in Asian Studies identified by BAS staff are indexed immediately, but the total number of indexed journals is many times that amount.
A visual encyclopaedia of human behaviour and culture which includes material from every continent. Thematic areas include language and culture, body language, cooking, family structures, music and the arts, gender, and more. It contains classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage, and selected feature films.
A broad and comprehensive electronic archive of scholarly journal literature in full text, JSTOR has a moving wall which excludes the most current content for a period of between three to five years. It contains academic journals, images, and primary source materials in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
A multidisciplinary resource which provides access to 20 of ProQuest's databases, with a variety of content across subjects including science and technology, health and medical and social science from 1905 to the present. Includes abstract, index, and full text articles.